Food and Stay Hot spots in Andamans — the collection for a tasteful vacation!

Pallavi Bansal
travelStories
Published in
5 min readJan 26, 2021

Andamans is a jewel for travel lovers. It lets you amidst the perfect natural offerings of mother nature, along with a unique touch of luxurious and elegant man-made establishments. When in Andamans, I was spoilt for luxurious resorts and fine dining outlets, such many were the choices.

I planned a 10 days long trip to the Andamans for a scuba-diving course and planned my visit during December 2020. After an entire year of the taxing pandemic scenario, I was really looking forward to this long-awaited trip. I flew down from Chennai to Port Blair and took off to Swaraj Dweep (Havelock) via a government ferry. Following the social distancing norms, traveling felt different but also freshly unique. To take an RTPcr test was a mandatory protocol for travel, and I felt quite safe by the same. Reaching Swaraj Dweep Island, I rented a two-wheeler from Roy Travels and explored the island by myself. To be as free as a bird amidst lush green surroundings and a pollution-free environment, especially after staying indoors for almost a year, was truly worth every effort I made.

Let me take you through some of the most useful options you can consider for a memorable time in Andamans that I visited and highly recommend.

A comfortable stay at the excellent Sea-Shell Resort, Havelock!

Home in andamans — Sea-shell resort

Nestled merely 0.6 miles from the jetty(ferry station) in Swaraj Dweep Island, is the luxurious beach resort named the Sea-Shell resort. It features a restaurant and a bar along with sea view rooms. I was lucky enough to pick the Andaman Lagoon room that was both spacious and elegantly decorated. French windows, utility furnishings, and ample amenities included among the many offerings during my stay. Internet is full of positive reviews(Only at the reception and bonova restaurant) about Sea Shell, and during my visit, I could tell why. I immensely adored the services and prompt responses of the staff here. Room service was excellent, and the staff here was courteous. The cherry to top it all was the beach of the resort where we used to head for early morning walks.

Satiate your food cravings at the Bonova Restaurant

The Bonova cafe and pub is a chilled-out hangout place with elegant interiors and lush greenery all around. The excellent interiors are further complimented by apt lighting and a smoky dining experience. You would love the unique interiors and the peaceful surroundings.

The lip-smacking food menu was full of such delicacies that I dined here almost every day during my stay. My topmost picks were Chinese, Punjabi delicacies, and the mouth-watering chocolate truffle pastry.

The Bonova restaurant is an overall package for any traveler as it also offers you free Wi-Fi in a place known for poor networks. Probably the excellence in every offering made this place jam-packed with tourists at any given time.

Try local Andamanese cuisine at Munjoh Cafe

That Boho Place, Munjoh Cafe

Lying merely a couple of kilometers away from the serene Kalapathar Beach, Munjoh Ocean resort features a hippy vibe cafe named Munjoh Cafe. The manager was courteous and friendly. He showed us around, and we loved the gesture. The beach around was quiet and peaceful. I loved taking a walk around.

Munjoh Cafe is an excellent choice if you seek to try mouth-watering local delicacies of Andamans using fresh ingredients. I tried banana cutlets and would surely recommend them to my fellow friends. The overall ambiance was another additional highlight, apart from the unique food menu. The bohemian seating, hippy vibes, and serenity of the place presented it a perfect setting.

The homely vibe at Anju Coco

Anju Coco is as unique as its name. If you crave continental delicacies make sure to drop by Anju Coco. Be it cheesy pizzas, kinds of pasta, crepes, or sandwiches, Anju Coco is the one-stop location.

My personal favorites were Thai curry and spring rolls. Also, the Chinese menu was my major pick. Every bit of what they served had a burst of flavors. What grabbed my attention here the most was the concept of leaving footwear outdoors. It gave me a homely feel in a new destination.

Foreigners often compliment the place that it reminds them of their homes. Some more offerings of the menu include seafood, Indian dishes, and barbeques as well.

Anju Coco, Swaraj Dweep Island

Something Different

Cafe Something different at Swaraj Dweep Island gave me a college vibe. The cafe had a teenage enthusiasm with a lively crowd around. They featured varied kinds of seating arrangements, including multicolored hexagonal tables. They often have an in-house singer that sets the ambiance mesmerizing.

They serve delicious seafood, Italian, and Chinese cuisine along with a wide range of drinking choices. They often have an in-house singer that sets the ambiance mesmerizing.

Dinner at Taj

If you like your trip experiences larger than life, the Taj property is an ideal pick for you to visit, explore and dine at. Located at the serene Radhanagar Beach is Taj Exotica Resort & Spa with excellent diners, namely the Settlers, Shoreline, and Turtle House. I headed to the Turtle House and enjoyed the food and drinks to the core. What was special during my visit was the perfect timing. Since I visited the place in December, Taj had grand Christmas decorations. Witnessing Christmas feels after an entire year of staying indoors during the pandemic was over the top.

Radhanagar Beach, Swaraj Dweep

Head to the unique Barefoot Resort and enjoy the perfect mingle of nature and luxury!

Another marvel I traveled on my trip to Andamans was the Barefoot Resort. Minimum lighting, immense greenery all around, and luxurious settings. I took dinner at the restaurant at Barefoot and everything was near perfect, be it food, ambiance, or the staff.

All in all, the above-mentioned list will let you in a dilemma of choosing just a couple of them, such great is each one separately. So, go ahead and explore the majestic land of islands on your next trip!

Happy Traveling!!

--

--