Flavor Your Experience in a New Destination with Food and Beverage Tours

Melinda Crow
#TravelTruth
Published in
3 min readDec 9, 2019

--

My favorite travel experiences rarely involve the word tour, but when there’s food involved everything changes

So, I’m not really a tour sort of person. The word generates images of smelly busses and bored college-age tour guides with little knowledge to share.

Gary and I lean heavily toward independent exploration in most cases. I know, I know, some of you non-cruising people that know how much we love to cruise are wondering why I don’t count cruises as one big floating tour. That’s a topic for a whole other story, but the short answer is that we are boat people, so simply being onboard a cruise ship is fun for us.

I can actually name only a handful of group tours I’ve been on that wowed me unless you add in the food and beverage tours.

And those rarely disappoint. Whether it’s drinking beer and eating sausage sandwiches from what may very well be one of the oldest fast-food restaurants in Regensburg, Germany, or sipping wine deep in a stone cellar in Alsace, there are tours that have shaken me from my travel complacency.

Qualities of a good food tour

The tour guide is often the key. Questions to ask before you book include whether the guide is a local and how many tours…

--

--

Melinda Crow
#TravelTruth

30-year freelancer. Found on: Newsweek, The Points Guy, Cruise Critic, MSN Travel, Writing Cooperative. Falcon Guide author. https://melindacrow.substack.com/