We Are Saving the World One Travel at a Time

Sustainable Travel Tips from the Ladies of TravelWiser

TravelWiser
TravelWiser
6 min readJun 20, 2021

--

Traveling connects us to the world and the rest of humanity. It brings us closer to the different cultures and allows us to learn in a way deeper than other mediums. Unfortunately, it may create negative side effects on our environment and society at large. People are putting strains on major cities, fossil fuel pollutes the atmosphere, and plastic pollution in tourist areas is accentuated a lot more as people flock into a destination.

Luckily, there are ways to be more conscious and to help lessen these negative effects. The ladies of our TravelWiser Team will give you some tips on the practices they do whenever they travel.

When I travel, I pack my own food whenever I can and carry my own reusable bag whenever I shop. But if ever I have to buy food outside, I do so from the local market and try out the various delicacies. If I’m ordering to-go, I use my own reusable water bottle, coffee mug, silverware, and skip the plastic wares.

It’s interesting what a traveler could find in the local market. Each country’s gastronomy selection is unique, everyone should make sure to explore it.

Greete experiencing a Winter Wonderland in Estonia. Photo used with permission.

Greete is our Social Media Manager for TravelWiser. Apart from the amazing posts you see on our Instagram and Facebook Page, she also creates awareness for sustainable travel in our community. You can know more about her adventures and favorite activities when traveling here.

I try to disconnect, be in the moment, and enjoy the outdoors whenever I travel. I try not to use my cellphone that much. I pass time swinging on a hammock whenever I’m on a beach or lying in my tent looking at the stars at night before I sleep.

One time, I visited a friend in a remote area in Palawan, Philippines, and luckily brought my tent with me. Every night I was treated by the chorus of music coming from cicadas and other native insects. Above me was the vast Milky Way. In the morning, I was greeted by the clucking of roosters. Stepping outside my tent, I could feel the dew on the grass against my skin. It was one of the most relaxing feelings, beats staying at a five-star hotel anytime.

But if I’m staying in a hotel, I wash my clothes at the same time while I shower and dry them by hanging them overnight instead of using the hotel laundry and dryer.

A few years ago, I also learned how to create my own soap and shampoo bars by joining a class. So every time I travel, I just bring one of my personally made bath products and bring it home if I wasn’t able to use it all.

I also love to do volunteer experiences! I love staying at my host’s home and socializing with the locals. I eat their homemade food and experience being one of them. I don’t rent a car when I travel and only use public transportation or even hitchhike.

Ranah at Picton, New Zealand. Photo used with permission.

Ranah is the Writer/ Editor for Travelwiser’s Medium Publication and a member of the Marketing Team. You can follow her at Travelwiser here.

I love organic products! They are not harmful to the skin or the environment as they do not include foreign, even sometimes harmful chemicals. So whenever I travel, I bring my own organic skincare products and toiletries.

I also travel with a reusable metal straw which is cute and durable at the same time. According to research, an estimated 500 million single-use plastic straws are used each day in the USA alone. While in Europe the figure stands at 25.3 billion in a year. That’s a lot! I don’t want to be one of those people who pollutes our beautiful planet Earth with a plastic straw, so I bring my own all the time.

If I’m out doing a tour, I try to join other groups so that we can hire one tour guide for everyone. It does not only save money but also energy and the pollution from the vehicle the group will be using.

Kaisa on one of her travels. Photo used with permission.

Kaisa is one of the Community Managers at TravelWiser. You can see the countries she’s been to and the places she wishes to visit in the future here.

I love summer and the hot weather is the best time for swimming. To protect our ocean, I only use natural sunscreens that are made of minerals. I never use the chemical ones. I have my own concentrated shampoo and silicone-free skincare products that go with me everywhere I travel.

I usually explore by walking or by riding the train as that is more enjoyable and eco-friendly.

I love to shop whenever I travel. Before going home, I buy souvenirs from small native shops for myself, family, and friends. I especially love the handmade products by the locals, and I never ask for plastic wrapping or bags from the seller. I always carry a reusable bag.

Arya is a young entrepreneur and traveler from Turkey. Photo used with permission.

Arya is one of the Community Managers at TravelWiser. She’s also a huge advocate of conserving the waters of our oceans and was selected as a Sustainability Leader by United People Global. She’s helping our community become more aware of choosing sustainable travel than traditional ones. Follow her at TravelWiser here.

I love to unwind whenever I travel, but I always choose to use the shower instead of the bathtub to save water. I bring my exfoliating shower gloves (made from natural plant fiber) that remove dead skin cells and dirt. It helps better the blood flow and makes skin glow naturally. They are really light and dry just by hanging, the same thing I do with the towels. That way, housekeeping wouldn’t have to replace, wash, and use water more than necessary.

I love to walk around and ride a bike to explore nearby places. I travel by bus, train, or ship for longer distances instead of riding a plane or driving my own car. Recent studies show that cars are on average as polluting (or more) than planes. So I avoid those two as much as I can.

If I’m doing a tour, I make sure I join the ones that don’t exploit wildlife, especially the endangered species. As much as I love to hug fluffy animals and see them up close, I would always want them to stay in their natural habitat and be free as we humans are. Every living creature in this world deserves to be treated fairly and with dignity.

Birgit enjoying winter in Estonia. Photo used with permission.

Birgit is the Human Resource Manager for TravelWiser. You can see the places and know more about her experiences from her TravelWiser account here.

You as well can help in conserving our environment and creating a positive impact on our society. We hope these tips give you ideas and we’d love to hear what you do on your own. Share it with us through your comments!

Thank you for reading.

Create a TravelWiser account to:
Find detailed information for your dream destinations
Create your travel budget list
Discover hidden gems all over the world
Share your amazing travel experiences

--

--

TravelWiser
TravelWiser

Travel planner in your pocket — plan, enjoy, and share all your adventures! ⭐️ http://www.travelwiser.io/ Follow the publication: https://medium.com/travelwiser