Carrickfergus castle and my old stamp album

S.R.Praveen
myopiclenses
Published in
3 min readFeb 1, 2019

Carrickfergus castle, built way back in AD 1177, is one of the first things that you would come across on a road trip along the coastal causeway from Belfast. But, more than the “as good as new” stone walls, the first thought on seeing the castle was about one stamp in my old stamp album, which I hadn’t opened in years.

The name ‘Carrickfergus’ is deeply etched in my mind because it was one of those prized possessions in the stamp album of my school days. So, back home, I searched out the stamp album and there I found it,the slightly worn-out Carrickfergus castle stamp, still on the album.

Apparently, Carrickfergus means the Rock of Fergus, in memory of Fergus the Great, a Gaelic King, who crashed his ship on a rock here. The castle and the town has come under attack from the English, French and the Scottish. Many a battle have been fought here over the years. Stumbling upon this castle was a surprise, because I did not know this one was in Northern Ireland or that I would see it on this route. But the name was enough to rekindle memories of the stamp collection days. Wonder how many are still actively collecting stamps! How many of you do or have done?

Instapost —

--

--