Welcome

Travis J. Cook
Travis J Cook
Published in
2 min readOct 14, 2017

Hey there,

After a long time away from website hosting and sharing written updates on a daily/weekly basis, I’ve started up my own website.

Right now, it’s a Medium website. I’m looking into registering my own domain name (gasp — it’s expensive), and will be using this to not only talk about the big events in my life here in Chicago and around the world, but also to talk about my upcoming works.

Sincere self-promotion has always had an aggrandizing sense to me in a way that’s made me uncomfortable. I do some cool things, and I’m pretty good at several other things, and I’m proud of what I have done and can do. Having said that, I never really like to brag, and so this particular area of an artist’s life has always been a little more rough for me.

(Never mind the fact that at parties, unless it’s a party with a ratio of people I know higher than people I don’t know, I tend to turn into a wallflower.)

But as I enter into my thirties, I figure it’s time. I need to get over my stubborn refusal to talk about things I’m doing, and…well, talk about the things I’m doing.

So, with that in mind, I’m writing a book! It’s called Amazing Grace, and it’s probably the best piece of writing I’ve ever done. I’ve been working on it for the better part of the year in an effort to get away from the madness that is our current political life, and will be seeking out representation and/or publishing rights in the next year. In the meantime, I’ve just wrapped on the fourth draft and will be going over it with a fine tooth comb here in the coming weeks.

I’m pretty proud of the book, and am excited to get to share it with the world sometime soon. In the meantime, I’m still working on other projects that I’ll be talking about intermittently here and there. You’re also likely to be subjected to a blog-type post of sorts every week or so. I don’t want to promise anything, but I do want to be better about updating this type of thing than I’ve been in the past.

So here goes! As always, happy reading!

--

--