How To Travel Early and Not Regret it Later ( By Daryo, Danielle and Henry)

Daryo C
11 min readJul 13, 2016

--

Copenhagen, Denmark

Almost every single day someone asks, “how are you affording to travel so much?” A family member, a friend, someone from high school, someone different almost every single day. It had actually become a nuisance, so I asked some of my friends that travel often if they receive this question as well. Their answers, “every single day!” That and “do you even do school?” have become questions we all wish we could just mute. Luckily, as of 2016, an open letter blog post usually gets the job done.

So, this post will be to clarify exactly how we’ve all been able to see so many countries, at such young ages while incurring 0 credit card debt and contrary to instagram jokes, not acquiring any suga mommas/daddies.

Costa Brava, Spain

Daryo, 22, 30 Countries

I started travelling at about 6 months old, and alone at 16, but for the purpose of this expose, I’m just going to count the last two years of travel as they were the most self-funded/directed. Since the start of January 2014 I’ve stepped foot in 21 countries, 8 as part of exchange, 10 as part of a Eurotrip, 1 for vacation, 1 for work, and the one on my passport (Canada).

None of these trips have left residue on my credit card. Blame that on my personality, as years of watching documentaries has left me terrified of incurring credit debt so I mostly try to avoid it. Of course, that’s not to say I don’t use my credit card. Building credit and acquiring points are very important tools you should start using at 18, they’ll help out a lot when you’re older.

In my opinion, travelling a lot at such a young age boils down to three things: 1. Being prepared, 2. Being Resourceful 3. Just Doing it

Being Prepared

Preparation is key. I’ve known that I wanted to travel from a very young age. One of my requirements for post-secondary education was a good international exchange program. Telfer definitely delivers that opportunity by granting their students access to 21 different countries. Obviously not everyone gets a chance to take part in the exchange program, but if you do, seriously consider it (my entire exchange in Bangkok was cheaper than living in ottawa for the same time period).

There are different levels to preparation. Mental, Physical, Financial, etc. Some people plan better by knowing where they want to go, what they want to see, others plan better by knowing exactly what they want to spend each day. I’d say I’m a mixture of both. I like to choose a region, set price points and then choose where I want to go upon arrival. Aim to be prepared for every single part of your trip. From not wearing a belt to the airport (speed through security) to downloading the Google map and language of the country you’re heading to, you should always be ready for the best, and the worst.

Winging it is fun, but it doesn’t hurt to be prepared. Financially, I have already planned ahead for the next 22 months just to be ready for my next destination. Try a simple Google spread sheet and input what you have coming in and going out over the next 12 months. Do you like what you see? Are you spending too much on something you don’t need? Try it out.

Being Resourceful

In order to not run out of resources, you need to be resourceful. My favourite resource on my recent Eurotrip was Aeroplan miles. Like I said before, you should be building up credit and miles from the age of 18. The book How to Fly for Free by Scott Keyes is one of my various Bibles and because of it I just paid $88 to fly to and from Europe. Yea that isn’t a typo, I’ve been rolling in miles. I’ve learnt almost everything there is to know about how credit cards, credit scores and credit miles work.

If you’re a university student, its definitely hard to work full time and grind through classes throughout the year, so find part time job/side hustle/random income that doesn’t require you to go to far from campus (aka an on campus job). That “little” money you earn from that really compounds, especially if you throw it into a Wealthsimple account. Another useful resource for a University student is scholarships. Apply to as many as possible, trust me you never know when they might come in handy.

Just Doing it

Just do it. Pick a destination. Figure out how much it’ll cost and just go. Stop sitting on your computer wondering how others are doing it and just go, you’ll never regret spending money on experiences.

Checkout where I’ve been and begin building your own map today!

Yangshuo, China

Danielle 22, 19 Countries

When I started university, I didn’t really know what the actual hell I was doing (still don’t know) — but when I heard that as part of my program I could do an international exchange, I didn’t think twice. I was sure I wanted to study abroad. Since then, I have the travel bug (or as I like to call it, the travel drug). I spent 6 months in Asia while studying in Hong Kong, and now I am working in Barcelona for my last CO-OP term. In just the past couple of years I’ve travelled to over 40 cities in 19 countries and I’m just getting started.

Living abroad is expensive, there’s no doubt. But in my humble opinion, it’s the most cost-efficient way to travel. When you live abroad, you don’t only get to explore the city and country you live in, but you get to discover surrounding countries as well for reasonable prices. Plus (big plus), you have more time! Another important thing to note is that as a student, you have access to so many resources like scholarships! Scholarships are a large part of the reason I’ve been able to afford going abroad — so study hard! High grades can bring fast cash!

Luckily for me, I’ve also always been good with my money. I’ve made strategic decisions about where I work and how I spend my money since I started working at 15. I worked in the service industry where I made tips instead of working for measly minimum wage, and I consciously decided that I only wanted to see my bank account grow. So when I received my pay check, the entirety went in my savings and only very small portions could be used for only necessities.

Also, I’d like to point out that I am not living at home with my parents, I pay my rent, my food, my textbooks and tuition. I know a lot of people that live at home and still feel financially restricted… In the end, I believe it’s a matter of choice. But here is how I’ve managed to do it:

1. Be Frugal AF

I’ve been able to live on my own, pay tuition, AND go on exchange + intern abroad by…. *drum roll*…. being cheap AF (in the best way though!). I rarely eat out — for several reasons, one of them being that it’s expensive! I already spend money on groceries so I try to stick to eating those and then I treat myself to nice meals out when there are occasions or events. I don’t spend money on Starbucks, ever. I don’t go shopping for clothes unless I legitimately need something (I’m talking real necessity here — not it’s summer and I need new summer clothes). I cut my own hair, I walk/bus everywhere… (Oh yeah, I don’t have a car. That’s an important one. If you have a car, I am so sorry for your wallet.)

Can’t forget that I am a frugal traveller. Luckily Asia was easy to travel in for cheap, I stayed in hostels that were CAD$ 5/night. Europe is much more expensive so if you are worried about money, Asia is where it’s at. (Or South America! — my next continent) If you are not sure what there is to do in Asia, check out my blog.

2. You can’t be high maintenance

We all have high maintenance friends (gotta love ’em) — but another main reason I’ve been able to pull off my travels without incurring any debt, is that I am not high maintenance. I don’t need to stay in a 5 star hotel. The CAD$5/night hostel I mentioned earlier, well… I may have had to trap some bugs (even a lizard once) and skip out on good A/C. To me it’s all part of the fun! I laugh things like these off because I have been blessed to spend my travels with amazing people.

The other part of not being high maintenance that I wanted to touch on is that I don’t give a shit about material things. I will never spend more money on something because it’s a high fashion brand for example. I have zero interest in those kind of things. I don’t even have an iPhone, I have an android because it’s cheaper. I save a lot of money because I don’t buy expensive things, ever. I just don’t see the point. I do have a Coach purse, but guess what? I got it at Salvation Army for 5$. Thrift shopping + second hand shopping is awesome!! (not only for your wallet but for the environment!)

3. Choosing

Finally, this is the most important part. CHOOSING! Do you really want to travel and see the world? How high is it on your priority list? If you care more about material things and being comfortable, then yeah, you might see travelling as a financial burden. To me, travelling is the most valuable thing I can do and I WANT to be uncomfortable. I choose to spend less money in my daily life and to be frugal and to put more attention on experiences than on material things. When I save money, I imagine all the amazing places I will go with it.

Choose travel!!

Laodicea on the Lycus

Henry, 22, 22 Countries

86 towns/cities on 4 continents over these past two years, what have I learned? Just a bunch of ways to get creative with travel. The adventures which come with traveling are stories to share and experiences that will keep you craving more.

Am I a traveller though? No, I’m more of a nomad.

A nomad who has no permanent adobe, but rather many temporary homes as opportunities present themselves. How so? Here’s a breakdown of my past 2 years as a “nomad”:

Sep 2014-Dec 2014 Paris, France School

Jan 2015-May 2015 Hong Kong, China School

May 2015-Aug 2015 Guangzhou, China Work

Sep 2015-Apr 2016 Ottawa, Canada School/Work

May 2016-Aug 2016 Los Angeles, USA Work

Schooling and working abroad are huge part of how I explore while keeping a steady income flow. Everyone is different of course, and you know best what resources you have to work with, get creative with these resources and get creative with your voyage.

The Student Advantage

As a student, loans and hundreds of scholarships are at your disposal, and a handful of them support students going abroad. Nearly every school has a scholarship for students on international exchange programs. The local government, amongst other organizations, will also support students going global. The Ontario government, for example, provides generous scholarships for young entrepreneurs interning in start-up companies abroad. The British government pays wages for students learning Chinese in China.

Find a Purpose

Besides school and internships, many travelers offset their expenses through teaching or volunteerism. Everyone is a native speaker at some language or another. Look online for private tutor listings. Many families will pay you well just for having the right accent. I’ve also met volunteers at hostels who volunteer a few hours each day in exchange for a free bed, saving up server tips to continue their journey.

More for Less

For Canadians, to travel typically means Europe. It has become almost cliché. Sure, countries like Italy and France are incredible places to visit, but for that same amount of money you can live like royalty in Turkey or Thailand.

Keep Your Friends Close

We all have at least a couple friends who have moved on to different cities, but just because they moved on doesn’t mean you won’t see them again. Social media has made it so incredibly easy for us to keep up and stay in touch. A free bed and tour guide may be just a message away!

Hostel-Hopping

Don’t have friends where you want to go? Hostels are the next best thing. These are cheap, and by far my favorite type of accommodation. It’s a place where the only reason to be in your bedroom is sleep. At any other time, everyone is in the common room surrounded by like-minded explorers exchanging perspectives, playing drunken “foolsball”, and looking for buddies to discover the city with. Just remember to take a lock.

Get More out of the Journey

When buying plane tickets, direct flights are rarely your cheapest option. If you have the time, book transfer flights, save some money, and spend what you saved on exploring a new city. My flight from Beijing to Toronto last year was cheapest if I transferred through Istanbul then Cairo. I prolonged my Istanbul transfer by 6 days to explore the underground cities and heavenly landscapes of central Turkey. For Cairo I picked a 10.5hr. transfer to see the great Giza pyramids before my return to Canada.

Road Trip When Possible

If there’s land, drive it. Google image all the cities and towns along the way. You’re bound to be impressed by some of the results. Everyone is going to be asking where you went.

My journey from Ottawa to Los Angeles took me around the great lakes, through the central plains. I went up over snow-topped mountain ranges and down in between the red rock valleys. I breezed through sandy deserts, and eventually arrived along the coastal rainforests overshadowing seaside cliffs. Hidden gems are everywhere, so if there were any place where the journey mattered more than the result, it’s in your travel.

If you have more creative tips to add, I’m definitely there to listen. I look forward to seeing your adventures to come!

Here, I marked down the past 2 years in these links:

Exchange Year

Trans USA

Finally… the conclusion. First of all, a huge huge thank you to Danielle and Henry (Hang) for contributing, hopefully this gets people to stop asking the “how do you do it” question.

The purpose of this article is to show that everyone can travel if they want to, you just have to first let go. Its not as expensive as you think. You can travel really frugally (hostels) or in larger groups (get ballin’ villas with infinity pools) and not go broke. Of course that all depends on where you choose and how well you plan.

So with these words, go and see the world friends.

--

--

Daryo C

Is it stereotypical to say I travel? But also...entrepreneurship, baseball, music, art, content marketing, and of course, blogging.