CS371p: Week 3

Ethan Lao
Trees Grow Down
Published in
2 min readFeb 7, 2021

What did you do this past week?
This past week, I started working on optimizing code for finding the Collatz cycle length. To do this, I tried out several caching strategies, continuously modifying them until they worked and passed all three test cases on HackerRank.

What’s in your way?
There is honestly nothing major in the way, except for a couple assignments and tedious jobs. But since I’m pretty close to finishing the Collatz project, I think I will be able to manage.

What will you do next week?
I want to clean up some of the code for the Collatz project, as well has improve some of my unit tests. There is a slight coverage issue in the unit tests that I want to fix, but after that I can create the documentation and will be very close to finishing the Collatz project.

If you read it, what did you think of the Continuous Integration?
I think Continuous Integration is a very useful tool for writing and integrating code, especially for large teams. If there is an error after pushing the code to the repository, everyone will find out immediately and can work to resolve the issue while the code is still fresh in mind. Waiting to integrate only delays the inevitable.

What was your experience of Collatz?
Collatz was a fun project! I enjoyed testing out different caching mechanisms, and it gave me the chance to become more familiar with the programming language and its data structures.

What was your experience of exceptions?
I haven’t experimented with using exceptions in my own code recently, but it is something I’m looking forward to trying out since the scenarios presented by Professor Downing in lecture were interesting to trace

What made you happy this week?
I made a lot of progress in all of my Computer Science-related classes and their projects so I’ve really been looking forward to this next week, which should be a lot more relaxing and stress-free.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?
This is just a small tip, but I find it incredibly useful. When doing a git commit, specify the comment with a “-m” flag, like such: “git commit -m ‘this is a message’”. This way we can do everything from the command line without ever having to enter vim (which is an editor I’m unfamiliar with).

--

--

Ethan Lao
Trees Grow Down
0 Followers
Editor for

Computer Science Student at the University of Texas at Austin