CS371p: Week 8

Ethan Lao
Trees Grow Down
Published in
2 min readMar 28, 2021

What did you do this past week?
This past week, I was mainly focusing on the software engineering project. My group made a lot of progress on it and we are very close to finishing. I’m very happy with how the website it looking now!

What’s in your way?
This past week has been especially busy from tests and projects, so I’m a little behind on some of my other classes because of all the work and stress. Hopefully I can make a lot of progress catching up this next week.

What will you do next week?
Next week will hopefully be much more straightforward. I plan on attending all the lectures prepared with the previous material, and asking for help at office hours if anything remains unclear.

If you read it, what did you think of the Interface Segregation Principle?
The paper’s argument made a lot of sense in general, and I found the examples compelling. It explains that we should only use the interface that provides exactly what we need, and that asking for additional unused information may cause head-scratchers in the future. To solve this, we can split interfaces up and inherit only the parts we actually need.

What was your experience of initializations, and vector?
Initialization was a little confusing at first, but working through the vector implementation exercise really cleared things up. The curly bracket syntax is still a little strange to me, especially with how it can use different constructors based on what’s defined (sometimes using the initializer list constructor, sometimes the one-argument constructor).

What made you happy this week?
I got the first dose of the COVID vaccine! I feel very lucky and I’m hoping many others will be able to get one soon as well.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?
Use MySQL Workbench to connect to a database and test queries. You can easily connect it into an AWS RDS database, and is very helpful for debugging and making sure all the information is correct.

--

--

Ethan Lao
Trees Grow Down
0 Followers
Editor for

Computer Science Student at the University of Texas at Austin