CS373: Week 6

Ethan Lao
Trees Grow Down
Published in
2 min readMar 8, 2021

What did you do this past week?
I setup a website on AWS with my project group, and wrote React-Bootstrap code to develop a frontend for the website. I had never used Typescript, React, or Bootstrap before, so there was a lot of learning to do.

What’s in your way?
There isn’t much in the way this next week. Now that the project is over, I feel a lot more relaxed so I’m hoping this week will be much less stressful than the last, which had 3 projects due.

What will you do next week?
Next week, I will continue attending lectures and catch on a few of my other classes, since spending so much time on the recent project has set me a little behind in them.

If you read it, what did you think of the Open-Closed Principle?
I enjoyed the paper, and all the examples used in it. It helped me gain a much better understanding of how to structure programs to limit the places a wanted feature will affect, and gave me some ideas about alternative ways to format code to make it more flexible with future changes.

What was your experience of iterators and reduce2?
I have some experience with Python iterators, but I had no idea that an iterator would return itself when called on an iterator! The strange “quirk” allows us to loop through an iterator like its the original iterable object, and it made implementing the reduce2 function so much easier and readable.

What made you happy this week?
I was really excited to see the website finally go up. It took many hours to figure out how everything in AWS works and I ran into many issues that took lot’s of time to iron out, so I was relieved to finally see the website functional.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?
For trying to design your website, https://coolors.co/ is an amazing website for generating a color palette!

--

--

Ethan Lao
Trees Grow Down
0 Followers
Editor for

Computer Science Student at the University of Texas at Austin