CS373: Week 7

Ethan Lao
Trees Grow Down
Published in
2 min readMar 13, 2021

What did you do this past week?
I have been working on setting up the SQL database for the software engineering project. I’m not too familiar with SQL since I’ve only used it a few times for previous projects, but I’ve started to understand it much better as I’ve fleshed out the database.

What’s in your way?
I have been a little behind in some of my other classes because of so many projects happening at once, but this next week will hopefully allow me to catch up.

What will you do next week?
This next week, I will continue to work on setting up the backend of the software engineering project, focusing on scraping our data sources and putting them into our SQL database. However, I will definitely try to spend some time relaxing over the break!

If you read it, what did you think of the Liskov Substitution Principle?
I thought the paper brought some very interesting points and examples. My first reaction to the situation was that the programmer should resolve special cases by blindly using a function that is overridden in derived classes. However, the square-rectangle example proved that trying to do such a thing for every scenario can still cause problems in the future.

What was your experience of iteration, comprehensions, generators, and digits iterator?
Iteration makes a lot more sense that I have tried implementing the digits iterator. Their behavior is much clearer, and I definitely see how useful they are for iterating over an object multiple times at once. At first, I was curious as to why a generator would be useful since it seems like the same cost no matter when we perform the O(n) operation, but the option to stop at any point is incredibly useful and can save on a lot of resources.

What made you happy this week?
I’m really looking forward to spring break next week!

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?
My tip-of-the-week is to use draw.io. It’s very useful for quickly building a UML diagram, and allows you to work collaboratively (like a google doc). It has lots of different features/shapes, so use it whenever you want to quickly build any diagram.

--

--

Ethan Lao
Trees Grow Down
0 Followers
Editor for

Computer Science Student at the University of Texas at Austin