Bananas are the best cure for your tired feet.

Jyothsna Srinivas
Trell
Published in
4 min readDec 16, 2019
BEFORE | AFTER BANANA PEDICURE

A long weekend before college starts…
I packed my bags and headed out on a trek to Ramanagara. A good 3 days spent trekking and camping, I came back home on Sunday evening with an enviable tan and a pair of tired feet. Being packed into a pair of shoes for almost 16 hours/ day, my feet hardly had any exposure to breathe and heal. But, it was a Sunday evening and I had no appointment to get a pedicure to confidently slip into my new pair of kitten heels for my first day at college.

What could I do?

Options narrowed down to giving myself a DIY pedicure by raiding my mother’s kitchen.
I am an ardent follower of Pinterest. I could scroll through it endlessly and never get bored. Plus, I maintain boards categorically divided to go back to in case I could use it. One such boards is my ‘DIY board’. I knew I had something about pedicure pinned.
Found it.
Here was my Sunday evening quick-fix home pedicure using ingredients from the kitchen.

Ingredients-

. A bucket of warm water
. Essential oil (Lavender/ Tea tree/ Rosemary oil) / Rose petals
. Nail cutter and filer
. Coconut oil
. Scrub
. A banana
.Towel
. Moisturizer and
. Nail paint (desired color).

Procedure-

Step 1: Fill in a bucket with warm water (deep enough to soak your entire feet in). Add a few drops of essential oil/ rose petals (to give it a nice aroma). Soak your feet in for 3–4 minutes.

Feet soaked in warm water with rose petals OR
Essential oils

Step 2: Keep one foot soaked and bring out the other, pat dry and cut the nails to a desired length. Use a filer to give it a desired shape. Repeat the same on the other foot.

Nail cutter cum filer
Pat dry- Cut- File nails

Step 3: Apply coconut oil over the nail so the cuticle softens. Push it back neatly (do not cut them off).

Coconut oil helps soften the cuticles. (Any other oil would be heavy in texture).

Once done, allow both the feet to soak in water for a minute.

Step 4: Take a banana and mash it up well and good to form a paste. While one foot stays in water, massage the other foot with the banana paste. Massage it into the foot and up until your calf in circular motions for 3–4 minutes.

Mash a banana to make a paste

Step 5: Use the scrub to remove any hardened calluses/ dry areas on the underside of the foot. Post massage, repeat the same on the other foot. Allow both to soak in water for a minute.

Use a scrub to remove the hardened skin underneath

Step 6: Remove both feet from the bucket, dry them out with the towel (made warm by running it in hot water) and apply your moisturizer. Massage well into the skin.

Step 7: Finish off the pedicure by painting your toenails with your desired nail paint.

Voila! Fresh smelling and clean feet ready for my new pair of kitten heels.
(PS- The same procedure can be used for a manicure too).

Happy Fresh Feet guys!!!
If you know of other such DIY remedies for tired feet, do share it in the comments section. Would love to hear from you guys!!!

--

--