Get the right look for your gym, with me.

Jyothsna Srinivas
Trell
Published in
3 min readDec 18, 2019

Every time I open my Instagram, I am forced to see celebrities wearing the latest athleisures. I can’t deny that it’s always a motivation to see their beyond perfect bodies and want to achieve the same (This is entirely my personal view) But those gym clothes and gym looks. Ugh! So tempting to buy them all.
But can I afford it? No.

So, what then? How do I dress to the gym?

Let me list out to you what I have (over the past year) learnt to be are the important gym look Do’s and Dont’s all must adapt to have a good, comfortable workout.

  • Comfort before Fashion.
  • Invest in a pair of good quality sports bra. The importance of a well fitted sports bra at the gym is underrated. They provide the right support to your breasts and keep them in shape. And one with good fabric allows your skin to breathe instead of soaking up all the sweat and causing a stink.
  • Invest in a pair of workout leggings. Not cotton since they can cause excess sweating. Instead, gym grade fabric leggings are good, the ones that allow breath ability. In addition to comfort, they are available in a variety of fashionable prints.
  • Wear a headband, always. With hair flying across your eyes can get really annoying. Get a couple headbands that can be matched / mixed with the rest of your attire.
  • Invest in a pair of comfortable sneakers that can last you for a good period of time. Fashionable is their default. Get funky with the options.

With all the Dos from above, time for a few don’ts-

  • Do not wear makeup to the gym. It could clog the pores and lead to a skin irritation.
  • Do not wear jewellery for a workout. For one, the sweat could damage the metal. On the other hand, the sharp edges could cause skin irritation.

Well, a year taught me these. Tell me in the comments section what else you might have learnt and adapted to make your workout more enjoyable.

--

--