Why healthy snacking is important for before a workout?

Jyothsna Srinivas
Trell
Published in
3 min readDec 18, 2019

In the August of 2018 was when I first entered a gym. With no prior knowledge of what to expect of it except for a good amount of weight gain, I began my training. Every morning at 5:30 AM I’d be awake (barely), standing in front of my trainer ready to lift the heavy weights (2.5 kg is heavy for a beginner) 😛.

However, the first week I’d get tired very soon and would literally just lie flat at the end of the 1.5 hours training. Ignoring it to be just mybody getting used to the sudden routine change, I and my trainer let it be. But at the end of the first month when the routine continued, my trainer got curious. He asked me, ‘What do you eat before coming to the gym?’ I said, ‘Nothing. Dinner from the night before is my last meal.’

If you are making the same mistake I did, STOP.

Pre-workout snack is very important- the options are many, even in Veg (since I am a vegetarian).

Below is a list of pre- workout snacks I consumed (alternating between each) over the past year:

  • Bananas- Power loaded with Carbohydrates and Potassium, Bananas are nature’s power bar which aid in muscle function.
Can be eaten directly/ cut into pieces/ made into a smoothie
  • Oats- With a high fibre content, Oats slowly breakdown to release carbohydrates (energy). Due to their slow release, energy levels remain consistent throughout the workout.
With whole milk and sprinkled with honey and dried nuts. (Optional)
  • Boiled Sweet Potato- A big hit with mass gain, this is a must try.
  • Dry Fruits- A combo of dried berries, apricots, figs and pineapples are instant sources of Carbohydrates. Grab a handful and munch on.
  • Whole Grain Bread- A slice of whole grain bread is an excellent source of Carbohydrate. Load it with hard-boiled eggs for protein intake (In case you consume egg).
  • Trail Mix- Yet another for the mass gainers. High on fat content but a good source of Protein.
Make your own
  • Hydration- In Spite of all the solid food intake, remember hydration is very important. Post workout, dehydration leads to muscle fatigue and loss of coordination. So pre- workout it is a must to drink at least 1.5 litres of water.

*Intake of the above snacks 30 minutes before workout should be good and is recommended. If you are going for a power meal, give a time gap of 90 minutes.

I hope the above blog was helpful.
You can keep a weekly pre- workout calendar to help you keep track of your snack intake.

If you have any tips to make these pre workout snacks more interesting, do let me know in the comments section below.

--

--