BREE WEAVER
4 min readNov 2, 2015
BRYCE DURENTE ,15

5 STEP SURVIVAL GUIDE TO HIGH-SCHOOL DATING

A BIG SISTER’S GUIDE FOR HER LITTLE BROTHER

Letting a younger sibling grow up is hard. My little brother Bryce is at that age where he is not a little boy but not all grown up just yet. He is a sophomore in high-school and 15 years old. He is emerging high above all the other sunflowers in school being that he is a gt student but also an athlete. Bryce is 8 years younger than I am. He is my baby brother that towers over me in height. Now that he is at this age, he is experimenting with all the beautiful things he sees on campus, otherwise known as GIRLS!

I am in no way prepared for this. My first instinct says no one can date my brother in highschool because no one wants to be together in high school 10 years down the line. Well with exception of my grandparents,my aunt and uncle, and some friends of mine; no one really stays together anymore. His generation just isn’t into happy endings anymore.

Teen boys these days feel it is more of a compliment to have 6 girls than be in love with one. They want to do and be everything they see in the music videos. The sad thing is some boys don’t have sisters to tell them that’s not reality. Fortunately, Bryce knows what is real and for the most part he is very mature for his age. But how can I guide him at times I’m unavailable or vice versa?

I am beyond terrified of what a 15 year old girl could do to my little brother’s heart. I felt my first heartbreak at 15, and realize that is a very vulnerable and damaging age.

Now that I am a twenty-three year old mother, I’m forced to examine my life all over again but through my daughter. There are many ways in which she is just like me and it is my job to make sure she doesn’t experience the things I did. I protect Bryce in that same manner as well. As I reminisce on my high-school days, I wish I could sew him an invinceable cloak like the one on the movie Crash. All I can do is hope they have whatever my little brother wants them to have. As long as he is happy, I’m happy!

So to ensure he is happy, I’ve devised a “ Little brother’s 5 step survival guide for high-school dating.”

1.LEAVE IF SHE HAS A FLIRTING PROBLEM. Clearly she is publicly displaying her inability to be loyal and happy with you. She is seeking attention elsewhere for a reason.

2. DON’T PUT HER BEFORE YOUR STUDIES OR SPORTS. High-school is a very important time in your life. The opportunities you find there you may never get again.DON’T BE MEAN, JUST BE CLEAR

3. DON’T ARGUE. There is no reason for arguments. This would display too much emotion for the public eye and that isn’t good for anyone.

4. DON’T GIVE ANYONE YOUR HEART. Have fun and don’t be so serious.

5. IF YOU FALL IN LOVE, COME TO ME FOR ANOTHER LIST. Let’s do our best to avoid this one as best we can. It is what’s best for all parties to stay foreign to love.

Sorry girls if that means he runs over your heart to save his that is perfectly fine with me. Is that wrong? I am always empowering women but I swear what I would do to defend and protect my baby brother. I know every big sister goes through this phase and this too shall pass.

This list would actually apply in the same way with teen girls as well. High school really determines your college path for your future career. A free education over a fairy tale chasing replica of love is what I would prefer on any day. Trust me you all have an eternity to find love, but first focus on finding the right answer on your SAT tests.