Young Thug, 23

DID HE SAY TIGHT AS A KID?

BREE WEAVER
7 min readNov 8, 2015

A REVIEW OF YOUNG THUG’S “DON’T KNOW”

FROM HIS NEWLY RELEASED SLIME SEASON 2

Bree Weaver

On Oct. 31 of this year, Young Thug, a well known rapper, originally named Jeffrey Lamar Williams, who gained his recognition when featured in songs such as; “About the Money”, “Lifestyle”, and his own “Hookah”, all released in 2014, released his new mixtape “Slime Season 2.” The twenty-three year old Atlanta Georgian has been making music since 2011, but has since then never went this far with his lyrics, so much as to not only follow the example of many rappers today in the degrading of women, but now children. In his new mixtape of 22 songs, the third is the most shocking. The name of the song is “Don’t Know”(featuring Shad Da God), and when listening to it, it only takes for you to get to 30 seconds of the song to hear,

“ I WANT THAT PUSSY, CAUSE IT’S TIGHT AS A KID.”

I still don’t want to believe what I heard and I have tried to replace the word with another, investigating to see if I heard wrong, but it remains the same. There is simply no way around it.

Below I’ve placed the lyrics in hard form for viewing but I strongly suggest you to hear it for yourself and examine that I have only written exactly what was said.

“Don’t Know”- Young Thug

[Intro]

LondonOnDaTrack bitch!

[Hook: Young Thug]

My newest bitch say that she got it, ya dig?

Show me your mail, I put my stick in, ya dig?

I want that pussy, cause it’s as tight as a kid

Look at my rollie, it’s as cool as a fridge

Push your top back cause I feel like you the wig

I don’t know why, I don’t why, but I did

I don’t know why, I don’t why, yeah

But can you hurry up and buy, yeah

[Verse 1: Young Thug]

Graduated from Howard I’m the shit no Bauer

Beat it up for an hour, she’s wet as a shower

Hoppin’ out on them cowards with nothing but ’em whoppers

I’m a level 5 goblin

30 deep, all them lil niggas be mobbin’

Have you ever seen the street keep my barrier

RIP Monroe no Marilyn

Give my mama everythin’ nigga, evident

Aye, I ain’t goin’ steady but I’m ready

Let ’em bitches eat just like your necklace

We got blocks and we treacherous

Take your necklace you neckless

Please stay outta my section, yeah

Pullin’ out that choppa that moment that nigga get her, yeaah

[Hook: Young Thug]

My newest bitch say that she got it, ya dig?

Show me your mail, I put my stick in, ya dig?

I want that pussy, cause it’s as tight as a kid

Look at my rollie, it’s as cold as a fridge

Push your top back cause I feel like you the wig

I don’t know why, I don’t why, but I did

I don’t know why, I don’t why, yeah

But can you hurry up and buy, yeah

[Verse 2: Shad Da God]

God, got this gas, blowin’ so hard

Call a nigga shrimp, that’s a po’boy

Thy gon’ make me let the windows down on a Rolls Royce

Hustle hard, I keep that 44., got a dick

Bitches get round me they sneezing, jewelry game sick

I love mud, I done poured the deuce up so slick

Hop up in my car, now lick and go sit on the stick

Put the marker on ’em niggas and see if the45y real

I’m out in Texas, buyin’ pint, keep this shit trill

I got ashes drivin’ on the Bentley steerin’ wheel

Xan got me feel like I’m on a Ferris wheel

They came ’round the neighborhood with that fire paint

He got ’em on drop top just like a stingray

My nigga came with ’em bells, that shit was green day

I play the star role juggin’ like in a screenplay

God

[Hook: Young Thug]

My newest bitch say that she got it, ya dig?

Show me your mail, I put my stick in, ya dig?

I want that pussy, cause it’s as tight as a kid

Look at my rollie, it’s as cold as a fridge

Push your top back cause I feel like you the wig

I don’t know why, I don’t why, but I did

I don’t know why, I don’t why, yeah

But can you hurry up and buy, yeah

The first thing that comes to my mind when having to hear disgusting lyrics such as the ones I’ve typed in bold font is how the hell did this even get produced? I would never be ok with this kind of language in which a grown man is expressing the desire for a child’s genitalia. There simply is no way around this, and even so they keep trying to hide it all over lyrics sites. After having researched a variety of sites I’ve noticed either they did not have the song due to it being a recent release from a mixtape, or the site itself has substituted the word “kid”, but there is always Youtube.

In doing my research I have found that not only did Youtube display it so that everyone can read the lyrics and listen to the song together but Youtube was the only site that displayed the actual lyrics: “I want that pussy, cause it’s tight as a kid’s.”

All the other sites disguised the word and tried to replace it with the word “Kick.” so that when someone reads the lyrics it sounds like maybe he has made a mistake or it was an edit to censor audiences. If the words are disguised due to censorship, why is it that no other words are censored? Apparently something is very wrong here and in the event that certain sites protect, defend and disguise this it is evident that this is not only being covered up but also excused.

I am a lover of Hip Hop, R&B, Rap music and a variety of genres. I am in no way trying to excuse one artist for heavily sexualized lyrics and exploitation of women in lieu of another, but as a mother I am eternally disgusted by Young Thug’s lyrics in this song and view it as nothing other than inhumane, because it involves children.

I’m not absolutely sure why in the first place that is appealing to Young Thug or why he feels it should be appealing to his fans. What message is he sending? What does he want or expect to gain from feeding this crap to his fanbase? Doesn’t he realize the effect music has on it’s listeners?

In my strongest opinion stating things like this is only encouraging it’s listeners to approach children and sex in the same manner. It is a sickening attempt to associate the two together. Well, think about it, there are three possible reactions he would achieve from releasing a song like this; a crowd of men looking for young sexually inexperienced women, a crowd of men secretly fantasizing over little girls and their private parts, or those fans he once had deciding to boycott his music in the defense of children and their privacy ultimately leading them to become ex-fans.

When speaking of fans and ex-fans, I have validity. I’ve danced to his music on several occasions and sleepless nights than I can remember.

Young Thug used to have a station in my Pandora playlist. I thought he created funny lyrics and catchy hooks with beats you had to dance to, but I have changed my mind. I am a mother and will not stand around silent to society as they try to poison the minds of the world and most importantly the children.

The children are our future and only when we truly realize that will this kind of indecency not be tolerated.When we as consumers start to stand up for our children’s future then our children will no longer be sexualized and exploited. I feel as though it is like committing homicide to display young girls sexually exploited on ads, movies, and in music videos.

That little girl is someone’s baby and in no way should have to endure the sick and twisted temptations of the media ever. When Young Thug says things like this it make mothers like myself furious because why should that be acceptable? Why does it come on Pandora at all? Isn’t there a line we shouldn’t cross as human beings? Shouldn’t the privacy of our children be important, sacred and essentially off limits in music and media period?

--

--