Making Trendyol an international lovemark

Yonca
Trendyol Group
Published in
2 min readDec 29, 2021

Going from consulting to the start-up world is a well-trodden path. But every experience is unique, as every start-up and person is different from each other. As an exceptional first year with Trendyol comes to an end, I wanted to reflect back on this exciting journey and tell you my story.

I joined McKinsey straight after college. And, for 8 years, it was a great school to navigate the business world, live and work in 30+ countries and get transferable skills that I could apply in different contexts. After my first few years, I went to Harvard Business School for MBA, and realized the world is changing more rapidly than ever before, and today the majority of the changes are driven by start-ups rather than the incumbent corporations.

Right after school, I started working in the New York office, and I saw myself moving away from typical strategy work to the projects that would bring me close to building and co-creating with clients. As I started to focus on building and scaling new businesses, I realized I loved it. At the end of every 10–12 months project, it was really hard for me to say goodbye to the products, organizations and teams we have built together.

I wanted to learn more about this world. So, I joined Trendyol, the first decacorn of Turkey and my own personal love brand, which was founded by an inspiring women entrepreneur.

Over the years, I watched Trendyol build and shape the online shopping behavior of consumers of Turkey as I came back to the country. And, right from the start, it was a passion of mine to make Trendyol an international success and a lovemark.

And the more I got to know the founders, team, culture and the vision of the company, I realized this was the right place for someone who has big aspirations in life, desires to create change and embrace an ownership mindset.

In Trendyol International, you have the best of both worlds: flexibility and the culture of a start-up with the resources and years long experience of a corporation. It has globally acknowledged investors such as Alibaba, Softbank and General Atlantic, and has over 30 million customers, but still everyday you are working in an exciting start-up environment where you are encouraged to make mistakes, learn from them and iterate quickly.

“Everyone thinks of changing the world, but no one thinks of changing himself.”

If you have the humility and determination to learn from your mistakes and grow each day, the courage to step out of your comfort zone and the passion to build a global success story join us and be a part of this exciting opportunity!

--

--