Maintaining a creative mindset on the client side

Gökhan Çukurtaş
Trendyol Group
Published in
3 min readFeb 10, 2022

As a creative copywriter, when I switched to the brand side I had many questions such as “Will I lose my creative thinking abilities?” and “Will we still be able to do creative work?”.

After joining Trendyol, these questions were replaced by questions like “How can we do it differently and/or more creatively?”and “Can we come up with a new idea here?” because Trendyol’s culture is always fed by creative ideas to help achieve new goals.

I can say this confidently: I am more creative at Trendyol than I have ever been. This is because I don’t just focus on one TV commercial script, one piece of social media content or one YouTube idea at a time.

I act as a creative contributor on topics that impact the entire Trendyol platform and see how my thoughts are valued. Let me share a few instances:

  • I wrote a script for the February campaign. What do you think?
  • Oh, it’s good! Let’s definitely consider this copy idea based on our campaign objectives.

I really mean on all topics:

  • I have come up with an outdoor advertising idea to promote vouchers, but I need a catchy phrase for it.
  • Let’s come up with one together, I’m sure we can find something.

I’m not exaggerating, all topics:

  • What if we edit the texts that Trendyol Assistant uses as the communication language?
  • Oh, I like it. I’ll set up a meeting for us to go through your suggestions.

It’s a never ending list:

  • Should we create a branded sign for us sellers so they can place it in front of their stores during campaign periods?
  • Let’s evaluate the required effort and impact, then we can decide accordingly.

Yes, I try to come up with ideas everyday for every subject. I work in a team where my creativity, which I was afraid of losing, is supported and nurtured. I see that the ideas I come up with bring tangible results and help us achieve the goals we are working towards as a team. And finally, I know that my ideas, whatever they may be, are valuable to Trendyol. Just like your ideas will be.

Marka Tarafında Yaratıcı Olmak

Bir reklam yazarı olarak, marka tarafına geçerken aklımda “Yaratıcı reflekslerim körelir mi?”, “Kreatif işler yapar mıyız?” gibi birçok soru vardı.

Trendyol’a katıldıktan sonra bu sorular yerini “Daha farklı nasıl yapabiliriz?”, “Buraya yeni bir fikir bulmasak mı?”, “Bunu daha yaratıcı nasıl yazabiliriz?” gibi sorulara bıraktı. Çünkü Trendyol’da hedeflere ulaşmaya yardım edecek yaratıcı fikirlere her zaman, her konuda ihtiyaç var.

Şunu rahatlıkla söyleyebilirim, Trendyol’da hiç olmadığım kadar yaratıcıyım. Çünkü sadece bir TV reklamı senaryosu, bir SM içeriği veya bir YouTube fikri düşünmüyorum.

Tüm Trendyol platformunu ilgilendiren konularla ilgili yaratıcı katkı sağlamak üzere hareket ediyorum:

+Şubat kampanyasıyla ilgili şöyle bir senaryo yazdım. Nasıl sizce?
-Aaa güzelmiş! Hedeflere göre gündeme alalım bunu.

Gerçekten, her konuda:

+Kuponlarla ilgili bir outdoor fikri buldum da buna güzel bir laf lazım ya.
-Birlikte bakalım, buluruz bir şey.

Abartmıyorum, her konuda:

+Trendyol Asistan agent’larının iletişim diliyle ilgili metinleri şöyle düzenlesek nasıl olur?
-Aaa güzelmiş, toplantı atıyorum üzerinden geçelim.

Hem de her konuda:

+Satıcılar için şöyle bir dönkart mı yapsak? Kampanya döneminde dükkanlarında kullanırlar.
-Efor ve impact’ini değerlendirelim, ona göre karar veririz.

Evet, her konuda fikir üretmeye çalışıyorum. Çünkü kaybetmekten korktuğum yaratıcılığımın beslendiği ve desteklendiği bir ekipte çalışıyorum. Bulduğum fikirlerin somut sonuçlar getirdiğini, bir ekip olarak koştuğumuz hedeflere ulaşmada yardımcı olduğunu görüyorum. Ve son olarak, hangi konuda olursa olsun fikirlerimin Trendyol için değerli olduğunu biliyorum. Tıpkı sizin fikirlerinizin de olacağı gibi.

--

--