My journey in Trendyol CEO Office

Cansu Kabar
Trendyol Group
Published in
3 min readApr 1, 2021

I am a member of the Trendyol CEO office team since September 2017. Why do I, who used to say constantly that I was going to be a consultant and would have worked at every company when I was a student, love my job at Trendyol so much now? What happened to me, who used to get bored of thinking of only one company? I wanted to explain my journey and how I became part of a huge team of 2000 people.

All my life, I kept my distance from anything that requires me to focus on a single subject. I always wondered about “everything” but “in small portions”. I was never terrified by not knowing something. The pleasure of the learning process was more valuable to me than the satisfaction of knowing.

That is why I wanted to be a consultant throughout university. I applied for jobs in that direction and started working for a consultancy company as soon as I graduated. I was sure that I was going to repeat myself if I worked within the “industry”. I worked as a consultant for nearly 3 years and I learned so much that I felt better every passing day. However, I had questions on my mind:

  • Were my projects / ideas implemented after I left? What were the results? If I had the chance now, what would I do differently?
  • Could I make a real change in this company that I no longer provide consultancy service for?

Thinking of all these, one day I encountered the “CEO Office” role at Trendyol. What they were looking for was a team player that is ready to create processes from scratch and to use all his/her muscles. This time, these people who would come into my life as my “team” would not change depending on the project. I was going to have a chance to assess and iterate what I had done after a while. Moreover, we were going to make all decisions by evaluating data, what would I want more? :)

Wondering how it’s going to be, I started my Trendyol adventure. Trendyol was simply a fashion e-commerce platform back then, but went through extensive changes within these 4 years I witnessed. We became a marketplace in 2018, we were able to say to our customers “whatever you search for, you can find it at Trendyol”. We supported thousands of suppliers, mostly SMEs in e-commerce ecosystem. We established Trendyol Express and started a brand-new operation with Trendyol Grocery and Meal. As we as a team ran towards the target of “creating the most positive impact within the ecosystem”, I never repeated the previous day at CEO Office.

If you ask me what I have learned from this team the most, I think I have engraved Trendyol culture and working principles in my memory. I discovered how efficient one can work while converting ideas to projects and how the subjects that are just an idea today can turn into big initiatives the other day. All the people that I worked with became my teammates in very different projects. Today, we are still seeking answers to many questions that we ask every day.

Briefly, learning at Trendyol CEO office is a process that will never end. If you are a person like me, who dislikes saying “this is not my field” and if you want to have all your fingers in the pie: https://www.linkedin.com/company/trendyolgroup/jobs/

--

--