Right-brained people wear left-hand watches.

@KristinMe
/Of Hothouses & Breadcrumbs./
4 min readMay 5, 2016

What used to be the normal that is right-handed people, i am thankful that now, kids are no longer discriminated for, very much like in the school i grew up in. There were a handful of left-handed kids in all my classes. And it fascinated me the way they had been “normal” and adjusted to their ways, as well as i was (the right-handed supremacist). There were right-handed desks made available, as well as left-handed ones, and children were made to feel natural about their most natural pose in their inclination to write. Being one of those who had been caught early on, and corrected from left hand to right hand, i naturally took to what was more a rebel right-hand life.

As time progressed, my inclinations to the left were just kept in my brain – being more naturally inclined to left handed friends, as well as boyfriends. I had specifically three in my life, who were all funnily installed all in my teen years, and i think it was the New Wave era of pining for The Smiths, and Echoing the Bunnymen in their pain and longing, we did wear our watches on our right wrists, and had gotten into all kinds of undocumented mischief with Everything but the Girl. I started to exhibit and express my left-handed-leaning tendencies.

It started with the wearing right-handed mickey mouse or sanrio watches, then later on, thanks to automatic and battery-winding, the Swatch, Guess, Fiorucci, and all kinds of TagHeuer, Gucci abound, but no right-handed watch made me wear mine on the left, as i had. I closet-wore all my girlie friendship bracelets on the left wrist, and specifically wore my watches on the right, and if i had a pocket watchi probably would install this on the right side as well. Fashion aside, it was the years of a proper time-keeping interaction that kept me astride with the times, either with a classically-faced numerical or digital display that adjusted itself to the realities of living with a timepiece that made me more grounded, and levelled to an instance, a moment, that time of day, or a date.

panerai luminor 1950, acciaio 47mm

I would always wear my diving watch to my right hand as well, and this became a well-worn fact of life, to be able to tell time with our perspective being different from everyone else’s. Though it hadn’t been a destructive or life-altering position in life, being one with a right-brained, left-handed point of view wasn’t all easy, and as i progressed to being in carers of creativity, or ones of creative leaning, the left-handed people were more the norm. It tickled me inside to be amongst those who were wearing their correct interactions on their sleeves, as i had mine become a buried-undrneath, don’t-show-them-your-shameful-disability way of life for me had been to be who i was not. Or now, mal-accepted, and corrected to become who she really is. Appreciation of minds aside, the only real default is the one where we wear our gear on which side of our hands come from a specific side of our brains – it doesnt matter, but like sharing your playlist, it’s a form of an intimate telling of sorts, where you might as well put this on your facebook page.

the leftie’s version of the left-winder.

Whether that attested to our projection of our actual selves, being a closet leftie, it had always dawned on me that it feels like being in a secret world where things don’t quite work, or where the world actually was made for right-handed people, and where you feel more left out. It wasn’t being ambidextrous that drove you totally mad, as they say it does, but it is being equally good at both functions of the brain, and being able to master handwriting in both side of interaction, with equal dexterity. This became a tee shirt for me, as those slogans about life go it became me, with the notebooks, the pencils, the desks, and the watches – i will always be a leftie inside.

(*Disclaimer: realising it is all peppered about, please pardon all the puns.)

--

--

@KristinMe
/Of Hothouses & Breadcrumbs./

Editor + AppFndr, SocialTech • Designed/Fndr: Of Hothouses & Breadcrumbs • /thésocialapothékær/ '14 • つまらない • aboutme: @kristinmdasho • IG: kristinmdasho