Brandon Person
TrewFixtion
Published in
5 min readJul 7, 2016

--

IM SORRY. OR AT LEAST I USED TO BE. UNTIL I REALIZED ALTON OR PHILANDO COULD HAVE BEEN ME.

photo credit

Plus the truth could destroy your paradigm of colorful worlds full of free-flowing flowers and utopian societies where young black men are not killed by cops who are then told to “go home,” only to return to work after a few weeks as if nothing at all has occurred.

I do not usually weigh in on these viral subjects. To be sure, I am deeply and robustly tired of hearing and seeing the same scenes played out on the television news and social media. I had actually become rather numb to it. I am ashamed to admit that. I am so sorry that I feel that way. The atrocities that have occurred over the last 48 hours will consequently leave an indelible mark on all of us. And yes, my brothers and sisters, there are likely persons devoid of the same pigment and cultural background that are mourning also. Yes they are. Do not say that some of them aren’t attempting to empathize, although given the social contexts in which many of these murders took place it is almost impossible to do so.

I DONT USUALLY DO THIS

I usually bypass these topics altogether. But not because I am attempting to be sensitive, although I always desire to do so. No. I usually ignore the topics out of fear that I will have a disagreeable view amongst my African-American brothers and sisters. I fear that they will view the latest shooting from a certain angle and I will be at the other end of that angle. I know that #blacklivesmatter but I also know that #alllivesmatter and that includes officers of the law. I fear that they will look down on me for my opposing view. I will be deemed an Uncle Tom for siding with the establishment or the white man. I might view it through my Christian lens rather than my black lens. I empathize with my #woke brothers and sisters but I cannot always automatically side with my skin color. Especially when the truth warrants me to put that aside in order to see clearly.

I also do not typically post on these matters because I do not want to come off as militant. It just typically is not my stance, especially as it pertains to social media and activism. I am more of a speak-your- mind- but -don’t- make- waves type of guy. I usually work overtime to maintain a clean image with the establishment in order to maintain what meager following and credibility I have. You never know what jobs may come open if I could get in good with the powers-that-be.

THATS NOT TODAY.

But I am done apologizing. Its way past time for them to apologize for a change.

I have been pulled over and searched before. In fact I was the wrong person. Before then I could not emotionally relate to many black men I know who have been either pulled over for random things which make no sense or otherwise wrongly accused. I am so numb. I wish that I could feel something that could remotely relate to these families or the men who were the innocent bystanders. Why do I say innocent? Because there is physical proof that the two men in question were not violating laws which ever….EVER..warranted physical violence on the part of the police officers.

Philando

The now viral Facebook Live Stream in which Lavish Reynolds, the girlfriend of Philando Castile, being shot by an Asian American police officer after being pulled over for an alleged busted taillight has likely garnered your attention or will soon. The horrific drama shows the profusely bleeding Castile, moaning in agony while his terrified girlfriend streams it. To top it all off, the daughter of the two is in the back of the car witnessing it all.

The other is that of Alton Sterling, who according to the video, like we’ve seen too many times, is unarmed. It is clear. Why do we need to prove anything? As if proving that will clear America’s guilt-ridden conscience. It won’t. It has been done one too many times. America, the proof is too stained in the annals of history. This isn’t old news to you. Even though time has passed, nothing has changed. Still terrorizing those citizens within your borders who you were sworn to protect? Are you? Will you? Scratch that last question. It was rhetorical anyway. We see that your brand of justice has the scales tilted in your favor. Never fear. God knows. And he’s listening and recording. Trust.

We’re pissed. We’re tired and confused. No, not confused as to whom is to blame. We are already aware of that. We are confused as to why it continues to occur. Especially in light of the fact that the overarching evidence has been caught on live streaming or video.

A little more than two days ago America yet again took 400 steps backward into time. But my fervent hope is severalfold: That my Millenial friends, black, white, Asian, Hispanic and other have indeed found a worthy cause on which to ride firmly and will maintain that stance until its’ purpose is lived out. That is indeed what Martin, Malcolm, Medgar, Nelson and Sojourner would have done. See it all the way through. That in their zealousness they will not lose sight of objectivity and the reason why they fight against it. Also that, while the cops who perpetrated these crimes are indeed guilty, our young men and women need to remember that we are not ‘wrestling’ against flesh and blood. Even though it may seem as if we are. On the contrary, we are fighting an age-old war against age-old principalities hell-bent on dividing us all. Lastly, let us collectively remember that once our feelings and biases subside, all that is left is the truth. That not all cops are bad. But equally just as important, let the U.S Government and specifically law enforcement officials, realize that not every time a black man reaches, is he reaching for a firearm. Especially when he has complied with the law.

THIS IS JUST MY THOUGHTS BACKED UP WITH ALREADY PUBLICLY MADE EVIDENCE. Do what you will with it.

HEY YOU! BEFORE YOU GO.

AND,

Grazie!

--

--

Brandon Person
TrewFixtion

Believer. Content Creator.💡 Idea guy. Founder, @trewfixtion Memphis born/bred Author of Lights Camera Journal