Blog Post #6 #MillikinSMW17

Trey Pogue
treypogue
Published in
3 min readMar 5, 2017

This blog post is all about editing my old tweets.

Tweet 1:

Why MU? Millikin has provided me with so much knowledge, great friends & brothers, and lifelong memories #MillikinSMW17 #AhThereYouAre

-Trey Pogue (@TreyPogue) February 16, 2017

First, our text authors would encourage me to tag Millikin in my tweet. This way, MU would see it, perhaps RT me, my tweet would be seen by many more users, and my follower count would increase. I also think that the “lifelong memories” wording is a bit cliche, so I’d change that.

New tweet: Aside from an excellent education, @MillikinU has given me the best friends & brothers. I’ll never forget why I love MU. #AhThereYouAre

Tweet 2:

I love paragraphs that are only one sentence long #MillikinSMW17

-Trey Pogue (@TreyPogue) March 2, 2017

While I don’t find this tweet too terrible, I think I could’ve shown my followers what I meant. Rather than just telling them, it would’ve been wise to find a picture of a nice, short paragraph. Along with the following edit, I’d attach a picture of a one sentence paragraph among a large page of words, illustrating my point.

New tweet: Paragraphs with only one sentence break up the mass of information I read for class everyday #MillikinSMW17

Tweet 3:

First day of college classes! Here I gooooooo

-Trey Pogue (@TreyPogue) August 26, 2013

For this tweet, I went deep into the archives. This tweet was my first while at Millikin in the fall of 2013. To me, this tweet just seems a bit juvenile. It doesn’t really say anything about how I feel. Was I excited or nervous? And my next tweet was not a follow-up, so my followers are probably still wondering how those classes went… Also, I think this tweet would’ve been mirror selfie worthy (those were still cool in 2013, right?!?).

New tweet: There are no words for the level of ready I am for my first collegiate classes today! @MillikinU #FirstYearStudent

Tweet 4:

Utility x Inspiration x Empathy = Quality Content #MillikinSMW17

-Trey Pogue (@TreyPogue) January 25, 2017

This was actually my first tweet using the hashtag #MillikinSMW17 (and it also contained a gif of a young Cory Matthews nodding in agreement). Since beginning this course, so many of my followers have asked (in person) about the hashtag and why I use it so much. In retrospect, I should have put myself in my followers’ shoes and explained the hashtag to my followers in my first tweet.

New tweet: Super excited about my Digital and Social Media Writing course with @ProfAmyDelaney this semester! Follow my journey with #MillikinSMW17

Tweet 5:

really enjoying “Everybody Writes” for #MillikinSMW17 but it’s too early to be clever #buythisbook

-Trey Pogue (@TreyPogue) February 16, 2017

Since I was called out in class for this tweet being “lazy,” I guess I’ll revise it in this blog post. I’d tag our author, Ann Handely. Both so she knows that I enjoy her book and so in hopes that I get a RT or a follow (I’m only a little jealous of JC). I’d also explain who the book is for (EVERYONE) and that it is full of great tips for writers.

New tweet: “Everybody Writes” by @MarketingProfs proves insightful for all. Whether you write for pleasure, work, or school, this book is a must-read.

Now, if only we could edit our tweets…

--

--