From Fashion to Tech: My First Experience in the Tech World

TribalScale Inc.
TribalScale

--

By Estelle Zentil

Walking into TribalScale for the first time was somewhat daunting. As a young girl barely in her 20s with a background in fashion business, the tech world seemed very distant and unfamiliar to me. Although I feared that I would not fit in, my intuition and curiosity led me into this foreign world, driven by my will to succeed and conquer every new challenge that came my way. Little did I know, the startup culture, particularly at TribalScale, was one I immediately fell in love with.

I instantly felt like I was a part of an exclusive and prestigious club. In this trendy environment surrounded by creative minds, a magical synergy is inevitably formed by all of the team members working together as a Tribe. It was far from what I was used to, having always been exposed to cookie-cutter work cultures where I felt insignificant, unoriginal, and without power or influence.

TribalScale preaches the exact opposite of this traditional work culture, and the team made this clear, right from the get-go. The Meritocratic system is extremely emphasized and highly valued. No matter your race, age, colour, education, gender, or size, talent and hard work are the only currency through which reward is possible. Everyone is granted equal opportunity, but it is up to them to reach their highest potential.

Coincidentally, I had never felt more connected with people in a workplace than one that primarily deals with “The Internet of Things” (IoT). Realizing that I was stepping into the future was simultaneously humbling and exciting. Knowing that I have the privilege to be part of something bigger than myself, and ultimately the way forward, was indescribable. I felt empowered to take on this field and explore what I am capable of doing, along with the help of some incredible people that share a similar mindset.

In many ways, there are parallels between fashion (something I could relate to), and the tech world. They both inherently require inception, design, creativity, and fine attention to detail. However, there was one big difference I observed. Fashion differs in many ways, from city to city and from culture to culture. Technology, however, connects everyone under the same roof and is a platform that crosses all cultures and people, much like the members of TribalScale.

My fear of not fitting in is now completely gone and has turned into the fear of leaving a place as creatively nurturing as TribalScale. The trust I have formed by being transparent and open about my thoughts, ideas, goals, and dreams, has developed into a sense of confidence that I hope to build on for the rest of my working career. As of right now, I can proudly say that I am part of the Tribe.

Estelle is a Business Development Intern at TribalScale and is currently completing her Bachelor of Commerce degree in Fashion Management.

Connect with TribalScale on Twitter, Facebook & LinkedIn!

--

--

TribalScale Inc.
TribalScale

A digital innovation firm with a mission to right the future.