Which Bear is Best? Or Headset?

TribalScale Inc.
TribalScale
Published in
4 min readAug 7, 2020

a collective review blog by the TribalScale Team

Photo by insung yoon

Headsets have jumped in demand lately. At TribalScale, our days revolve around Remote Pair Programming, Transformation, and learning how to master the remote work week — so headphone quality is a common conversation topic.

I have purchased some headsets that have amazing reviews, but ended up being so disappointed. I talked to some co-workers that have purchased ear buds for a mere $2.00, and they somehow get the job done well!

So the logical next step is to share our findings. We’re not the only poor souls to give the benefit of the doubt to a headset and find ourselves deeply regretting it as our sound cuts out in an important meeting…

-Jason Mills

Microsoft LifeChat LX-3000 ⭑⭑⭑⭑⭒

Find them here

This is by far one of my favourite headsets. I used this for over 6 months. The best part about these is the comfort of the ear pads, which consequently I wore out and they started to crumble! I would definitely buy this set again. They are not too big like some of the gamer headsets and not too small so that you can’t hear anything if you have a fan running next to you. I also like that they put the mute / volume controls on the cord so I can rest it right on the desk to quickly mute or unmute.

-Jason Mills

Bose QuietComfort ⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

Find them here

I have used a previous version of these headphones and it takes a lot for me to endorse something with such a high price tag, but I have to agree that both the noise-cancelling abilities and the comfort are outstanding. I have used these numerous times on the plane or working in a coffee shop and have had mine for over 5 years now and the battery life is still great.

-Jason Mills

Philips SHP9500 ⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

Find them here

Although they are hard to find in stock, this is a great budget purchase for a high quality set of open-back headphones. For me, working all day with a pair of noise cancelling headphones makes me feel strangely detached from the world. So using these open-backs allow me to stay grounded and listen to the birds chirping outside my window while still listening to music or a phone call. To top it off, they are so comfortable you might forget you’re wearing them — and the sound quality is top-notch.

- Matthew Kwong

Ebay Cheapo Bluetooth Wireless Receivers

Find them here (Multiple sellers)

Value ⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑
Battery Life ⭑⭑⭒⭒⭒
Audio ⭑⭑⭑⭑⭒
DIYness ⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑
Delivery Speed ⭒⭒⭒⭒⭒

These bluetooth receivers are also transmitters. Plug into your favourite headphones-with-replaceable-cord, and be untethered! Audio quality will vary depending on your headphones.

The unit sells for around $2.00 CAD each, and each comes with a 3.5mm male-to-male connector. I couldn’t fit the connector end into my headphones, so I found an old 3.5mm extension to connect.

The battery life is around 2¾ hours, I bought two so I can swap them out to recharge throughout the day. Shipping time is usually 4–8 weeks, with COVID-19 delaying Canada Post, expect longer.

- Alvin Fong

Microsoft Surface HeadPhones ⭑⭑⭑⭑⭒

Find them here

These bluetooth headphones are my favourite because their active noise cancelation is the best I have tested so far.

They are really comfortable even when I’m wearing them for nine hours in a row using glasses at the same time, and they adjust to my head tight so I can use them when I go to the gym or out for a run. They’ve also proved to be sweat-resistant!

The battery life is 15 hours upon purchase dropping to 14 after the first year of use, at least in my experience, the charging speed is really fast so after a 5–10 min of charge you can use them for a couple of hours.

It has compatibility with Siri, Google Assistant and Cortana, depending on the device they are connected with. I can’t say it is a feature that I use a lot, but still an additional benefit. I would say that the only con I found is that the microphone quality is not the best.

This is a really nice option to go for if you really appreciate the active noise cancellation and comfort. Microsoft lowered the price recently after announcing the new version of these headphones so is a good moment to buy them.

-Leire Polo

TribalScale is a global innovation firm that helps enterprises adapt and thrive in the digital era. We transform teams and processes, build best-in-class digital products, and create disruptive startups. Learn more about us on our website. Connect with us on Twitter, LinkedIn & Facebook!

--

--

TribalScale Inc.
TribalScale

A digital innovation firm with a mission to right the future.