E Unus Malum Pluribum a Postmortem in Machine Learning

Ian M
Tribe Bytes
Published in
2 min readSep 22, 2019

So at the beginning I was assigned a project on Machine learning; we were to use ml5’s libraries, as well as p5js to build something that utilizes prebuilt machine learners in ml5, like pix2pix or sound classifier, I wanted to use poseNet, and to have the machine to try and guess where a limb was behind an object, so starting with Visual Code Studio(using JavaScript) I followed(or rather tried to follow) a PoseNet tutorial, and that is where I started having problems.

In the beginning, we had to log in and create GitHub profiles. The problem was, that I used my phone email for email verification, and every time I would check the ver-code go to the verify page, it would resend a new code every time I went into it. There was no way to check the code without me leaving GitHub. Eventually, it was not a problem anymore, but because of it, time was wasted.

Secondly, I could not get the webcam as an image for canvas use, so no matter what I did nothing would be drawn on the image, and every time I used the element video.hide() it would hide both the video and the image translation of the video where it could act as a canvas, and this to wasted time, too much time, so much time in fact, that I could not have a minimal viable product, but along the process I did learn how machine learning works, along with how PoseNet works, so I shall leave off with asking you to check my code at the bottom.

--

--