AirPods Max long-term review

They are the most expensive headphones I’ve ever owned. But they are also the best headphones I have ever owned. Are they worth it, though?

Tschuebi (Raffael Hueberli)
Tried & Tested

--

This spring, I ordered the AirPods Max. To be honest, I did not have a good reason to buy them, especially after I very consciously decided in November to get the Sony WH-1000 XM4 rather than the then rumored Apple Studio headphones that turned out to be the AirPods Max. When Apple launched the AirPods Max, I was more than content with my decision but intrigued by the product nevertheless. So, about five months after that calculated Sony Headphones purchase, I found myself still thinking about Apple’s high-end headphones. Hence, in a moment of weakness, I ordered them.

Now that I had them for seven months, how do they hold up?

The Sound

Apple’s main selling point for the AirPod’s Max is outstanding sound combined with the AirPods’ ease of use. While I am no audiophile by any means, I have to admit, they delivered on this promise because the AirPods Max just sounds terrific. Unfortunately, I don’t really understand the frequency response curve and other quantitative methods of explaining how headphones sound myself, so they are not in this article. However, I can give you my subjective…

--

--

Tschuebi (Raffael Hueberli)
Tried & Tested

A swiss enthusiast for tech, sports, writing and more. Either you find me throwing a football, skiing down a mountain or sitting in front of my computer.