Hai Viet Ho
Triip.me
Published in
3 min readDec 10, 2016

--

The first note on our journey to build a long-lasting impact travel company

I built products, team, companies. I tasted the sweetness of downtime and the ecstasy of building something meaningful. I was young and wild.

I am still young and wild now. The one thing i have learnt in the past three years is how to build something last. To build something beyong the trend. It is not right or wrong, it is my favorite thing to do.

How to build it? It starts with your health, your stamina. It is funny that everyone in the world will say “Health is the most important thing”. Yes and it is the hardest thing to achieve too.

I used to believe that running, going gym, doing some kind of sports will improve your health.

Now i learnt that there is no one-size-fit-all approach. Finding ways to improve your health can come unexpectedly like miracles in life.

First, you ask the universe so badly “i want health i want health”. Then the universe will give you the opportunity to be healthier.

I got high blood pressure at very young age. I took medicine. I practice yoga. I do swim… none of those things work ( ok, I admitted i was lazy to complete the whole thing). One day, at my second trip to Bhutan, i climbed Tigers’s Nest one more time. I couldn’t last for more than 10 minute of hiking. I took the horse instead. Because i have been there once. My mind was not focusing on the magnificent view of Bhutan. I walked so slow. So slow that i told myself i gonna name this walking style “microstep hiking”. I was so tired. I took small steps, breath in, breath out slowly. Maybe the super uber fresh ancient air of Bhutan helped my mind. I suddenly feel the urge of changing my current health situation. Later days, every morning i woke up with high blood pressure headache. It spoilt my precious morning with insanely beautiful view from our room. I couldn’t enjoy the moment.

However it was not until i came back to Saigon and accidentally got a free trial to personal trainer gym that I realized this was the right method for my health. I went to gym many times. But it didn’t last until i got the personal trainer. You may say it is more expensive. Well, remember this quote

If you think it is expensive to hire the professional, wait till you hire the amateur

In business, i always pay premium for engineering and design even when I don’t have the money. I was ready to be in debt for professional service. But it didn’t do the same in gym training. I paid the high price of my health. I don’t recommend you to do PT now. I recommend you

Ask for great health. Set it as important as family. Then actively look for your personalized solution

I was lucky that when i asked, the universe responded. I wanted to learn the ancient mystic art of Tibetian soldiers that i read in Tibetian Code book. I couldn’t find it anywhere on the internet (simply because I don’t know the right keyword to search). This morning, a last minute morning coffee meeting from old friends turns out to be a long conservation about health for middle age men. My friend told me he is practicing Nine Little Heaven method. It is very close to what i wanted to learn.

I smiled and thanked for the opportunity that Universe had given me.

Just ask and the answer will come. Good thing is not many people dare to ask beyond their wildest imagination

I asked for a health and a chance to build a long-lasting team. Then everything else will come

--

--