How to Cancel My Ethiopian Airlines Flight Ticket

jhon player
Trip Advisor
Published in
2 min readAug 6, 2019

In a word very, very disappointing. You have to really be limited with funds or traveling to Ethiopian to put up with this airline, which is in my “never again” category.

  1. I booked a ticket from New York to Nairobi, all seemed fine. However when I went to check in online, I was denied access to my reservation.
  2. So on the day of my flight I called ET and they explained that I hadn´t filled out and signed an additional credit card authorization form, and I did not have a confirmed seat on the flight.
  3. At this stage I was considering not traveling, so I asked what would happen if I declined to provide the credit card authorization form. The representitive told me my reservation would be canceled, and I would get a refund. However, to do this, / would have to go to the airport.
  4. So I went to the airport, with my bags packed, not knowing if I would fly or not.
  5. After I spoke to the manager on duty, he agreed to cancel my reservation and provided barely any documentation from the system. I figured it was the best possible documentation and went home.
  6. I contacted ET head office, e-mailed them, called them, with no response whatsoever.
  7. I filed a complaint with my credit card company, and my claim was denied.
  8. I have sued both Ethiopian Airlines and my credit card for fraud and negligence, and significant damages.
  9. I will update this answer once I have the results of my compaints filed with the FAA, the Kenyan Civil Aviation Authorities, Ethiopian Airlines, and my credit card company, the latter two organizations are being currently being sued in the United States for willful fraud, negligence, and damages.
  10. Be advised the Ethiopian Airlines is the worst airline in Africa for anything financial or billing related, they do not respect the laws of the countries where they operate. You have to hope you have recourse to a developed countries legal system and a friendly lawyer who likes a fight.
  11. It also helps if you have large credit card balances, which gives you leverage over the credit card company. They don´t like to lose money and have their incompetence exposed as a matter of public record.
  12. Be advised that Ethiopian Airlines also has the worst in flightproductivity. On an 5 hour overnight flight to Joburg from Addis, the meal service and lights on time accounted for 4 hours, so there was no time to sleep, so the next day is ruined.

--

--