How to Manage Ethiopian Airlines Booking | Manage Online Reservations

jhon player
Trip Advisor
Published in
2 min readAug 7, 2019

In a word very, very disappointing. You have to be really limited with funds or travel to Ethiopia to support this airline, which is in my “never again” category.

I booked a ticket from New York to Nairobi, everything seemed fine. However, when I went to register online, I was denied access to my reservation.

So on the day of my flight I called ET and they explained that I had not completed and signed an additional credit card authorization form, and that I did not have a confirmed seat on the flight.

At this stage I was considering not traveling, so I asked what would happen if I refused to provide the credit card authorization form. The representative told me that my reservation would be canceled and that I would get a refund. However, to do this, you would have to go to the airport.

So I went to the airport, with my bags packed, not knowing if I would fly or not.

After talking with the shift manager, he agreed to cancel my reservation and barely provided documentation of the system. I thought it was the best possible documentation and I went home.

I contacted the ET headquarters, sent them an email, called them, without any response.

I filed a complaint with my credit card company and my claim was denied.

I have sued Ethiopian Airlines and my credit card for fraud, negligence and major damages.

I will update this response once I have the results of my complaints filed with the FAA, the Kenyan Civil Aviation Authorities, Ethiopian Airlines and my credit card company, these last two organizations are currently being sued in the United States for deliberate fraud , negligence and damages.

Keep in mind that Ethiopian Airlines is the worst airline in Africa for anything financial or related to billing, they do not respect the laws of the countries where they operate. You should expect to resort to the legal system of developed countries and a friendly lawyer who likes a fight.

It is also useful if you have large credit card balances, which gives you influence over the credit card company. They don’t like losing money and exposing their incompetence as a matter of public record.

Keep in mind that Ethiopian Airlines also has the worst flight productivity. On a 5-hour night flight to Joburg from Addis, the meal service and the lights on accounted for 4 hours, so there was no time to sleep, so the next day is ruined.

--

--