I Went to Switzerland in Search of Love, and Guess What? I Found It!

tripoto
tripoto
Published in
4 min readDec 4, 2019

Written by Saumiabee

As someone who’s grown up on a rich diet of romance and fairy-tales, I too was exposed to the magic of the famous Indian rom-com, DDLJ. The depiction of love in Bollywood has always been fairly problematic, even more so in the 90s. However, this film, through its refreshing treatment of young love managed to tug at the heartstrings of almost every movie buff — young and old alike. It became a cult romance film that remains iconic even today. Every woman has wanted a Raj in her life, and every man has dreamed of a Simran he’d bump into on one of his trips.

Naturally, I too grew up thinking that this fictional couple was the epitome of love. I mean, they meet each other in the dreamiest of countries — Switzerland. Could it get more romantic than that? So a month back, when I planned a trip to Switzerland, the die-hard romantic in me secretly hoped to find her Raj. Through my 15-day trip, I witnessed sights that were no less than otherworldly, and sure, I fell hopelessly and irrevocably in love. Not with a Raj, but with the beautiful Switzerland itself!

While every single day in Switzerland surpassed the previous one in terms of beauty and the experience that it offered, one of the most enchanting places that I visited was a quaint town called Kandersteg. This beautiful town was not originally on my itinerary, but a friend who had studied in Switzerland, insisted that I pay it a visit. So off I headed to Kandersteg, with zero research and almost no planning. I was simply told to visit a lake that I didn’t even know how to pronounce. But something kept me going nonetheless.

Trust me when I say this, Kandersteg was like a tiny piece of land that God himself had spent days carefully chiselling out of the Alps. It was indeed a slice of heaven itself. So if you’re heading to Switzerland, forget the mighty expensive Jungfraujoch and the crowded Geneva and Zurich, Kandersteg is what you definitely should not miss!

The Kander Valley

Kandersteg is located about 40km from Interlaken, the main junction in the Bernese Oberland region of Central Switzerland. What makes Kandersteg breathtakingly beautiful are the snow-clad Alps that sit like a crown over the town. No matter where you look, you’ll be greeted with stunning views. This valley town, which is neither highly populated nor overflowing with tourists is stupendous to say the least.

Spending a memorable day at Kandersteg

The main attraction of the town is the Oeschinensee or the Oeschinen Lake, a glacial lake formed at an elevation of 1578 m. This lake is one of Switzerland’s best kept secrets and even hailed as the most beautiful lake of the country. You can spend an entire day visiting the lake, enjoying a picnic and of course, boating in its turquoise blue waters. The fascinating bit about visiting the pristine Oeschinen Lake is that you don’t simply get into a car and reach the lake. You take a gondola lift to the top of the mountain and then a comfortable 30 minute hike brings you to the enchanting lake. If you’re visiting between December and May, you’ll find the lake completely frozen so you can even try out ice-skating or ice-fishing.

The adventure begins with a Gondola Ride and gets better with every step

The day that I had chosen to visit Oeschinen Lake was one of those perfect, dreamy days that Switzerland is known for. The sun was shining bright and crisp. The azure sky enveloped us like a taut blue bed-sheet and the scent of the approaching winter captivated us as we parked our car near the station and walked through the magnificent valley. I knew in my heart that this would be a day I wouldn’t forget, at least not in this lifetime. We hopped onto the Gondola and the view of Kander Valley left me completely mesmerised. Each moment, I was in disbelief of how a place this beautiful could exist in the world. The 20-minute Gondola Ride brought us to the very top of the mountain which meant that the Alps were right in front of us — looking more majestic than ever before.

Read the full story here.

--

--