Switzerland’s Most Breathtaking Train Routes: A Personal Travel Tale.

My travel experience in Switzerland with an interrail pass

Nowshad
tripsharebd
20 min readApr 23, 2023

--

Photo by Alix Greenman on Unsplash

I have always been fascinated by Switzerland’s natural beauty! The majestic Swiss Alps, the perfectly mown green lawns, small chalets in the mountains, top quality cheese and chocolates, expensive cars, and watches — all together make it a dreamy destination for a lot of us. But the thought of traveling to this beautiful country seemed like a faraway plan to me, it was just too expensive to visit. So, I was in wait for that time to have enough money or some surprise happening!

It was the 50th anniversary of Interrail; a company that has been selling European train travel passes in a wide range of packages for 50 years! And what did they offer? They offered 50% off on their train passes with which one can travel with almost all major European train systems without buying any other tickets. That means not much planning is needed, no need to buy or book tickets earlier, and the freedom to go anywhere anytime! — I said take my money, please!

So, there I was with a month-long train pass, sitting in Berlin and trying to come up with a plan. I needed to go somewhere that’ll make the best use of my travel pass that I bought with just ~250 euros!

My top picks were Scandinavia or Switzerland as the trains in these countries can be pretty expensive if I have to buy the tickets directly. I knew for sure that there is hardly any country in the world that is more accessible by train than Switzerland! And on top of that, a good friend of mine living in Bern agreed to help me with accommodation! Hence, my destination was a no-brainer! So, let’s start the adventure!

My journey starts at Berlin Central Station at 4:00 am. The German ICE trains speed up to 300 km/h, passing green fields, forests, and cities. And I am getting super excited as I cross the Swiss-German border! And by 2:00 pm I’m at my friend's house in Bern — the capital of Switzerland. Maybe I needed to pinch myself to make myself believe that this trip had begun already!

Once we were done with the initial greetings and check-ins, my friends proposed to give me a tour of the beautiful city in the afternoon. I mean what can be better than having a couple of locals as guides for a city trip?

The city is recognized for its well-preserved medieval architecture, and as we went through the streets, I was surrounded by beautiful 15th-century structures in the old town. The Zytglogge, a majestic clock tower dating back to the 13th century, was one of the main things I noted. Clocks everywhere — what else better represents Switzerland than clocks? Perhaps the Alps and Cows with Bells? Those will have to wait. For the time being, a stroll along the lovely Aare River with azure blue water is in order. It runs through the city, where locals take a bath to cool down (more like they float in the stream!) on hot days like today.

The city also offers a variety of shops, cafes, and restaurants, making it the perfect place to spend a quality afternoon. And for closing the day, we did treat ourselves to some kebabs in a small restaurant (hell it was the most expensive kebab I ate that cost 14–15 euros 😅)

Photo by Alin Andersen on Unsplash | Photo by Andreas Fischinger on Unsplash
Photo by dimitri.photography on Unsplash | Photo by Mads Egmose on Unsplash

Hike Day

Yup, time to scale some Swiss mountains. But don’t worry it’s not going to be an intensive expedition, but rather a very chilled hike on one of the most amazing places in Europe I’ve seen so far. Today we are heading to see Europe’s longest glacier — Aletsch Glacier, my first time seeing a glacier!

On a train running along the beautiful Lake Thun and then between the mountains, we arrived at Fiesch after a 2 hours ride. From there, we purchased a cable car pass to Fiescheralp which is an alpine village, a ski resort town during winter.

The long cable car ride was definitely a treat to the eye revealing the lush green valley as we went up. A few idyllic wood houses, cows roaming around with ringing bells around their necks, colorful flowers blooming around — A perfect summer day in the mountains!

The 2–3 hours long hike with almost 800–900 meters elevation gain, I could feel my knees getting a bit tired by the time I reached the top - Eggishorn. But man oh man, was I surprised when I saw the view of the glacier from there! The different shades of white and blue on the ice and its scale were amazing. It is a UNESCO World Heritage site and the largest glacier in the European Alps. A snack with the view as a reward for myself surely did taste better than usual!

Coming down from the top, we walked along the beautiful hiking trail from Fiescheralp to another village called Bettmeralp. The green mountain valley and the changing scenery on each turn were really something to appreciate before we came down with another cable car from the village to the train station to call it a day.

Photo by Zach Callahan on Unsplash | Photo by Samuel Ferrara on Unsplash

The day before was a bit more physical, so the next day I was thinking of a chill train travel day. I’m taking one of the top train routes in Switzerland — the Golden Pass Railway.

The journey starts in the beautiful town of Luzern. It is a picturesque city located in central Switzerland, known for its charming old town, beautiful lake, and impressive mountain backdrop. The Chapel Bridge and Water Tower, a wooden footbridge and tower, are a few of the iconic landmarks and the most famous symbols of the city. The small old town was pretty cute as well. I found the city to be quite touristy as well. But for me, the journey just starts here on a train towards Interlaken.

As the train sprinted through the valley, the vibrant greens of the rolling hills and the deep blue of the sparkling lakes came alive through the windows. The warm sunshine poured in through the train’s panoramic windows, bathing everything in a golden glow.

As we made our way through the mountains, the train climbed higher and higher, eventually crossing over a couple of magnificent blue lakes and small villages and then the stunning Brünig Pass. I could see the snow-capped peaks poking their heads afar, while the emerald-green waters of Lake Brienz shimmered below. And let’s not forget about multiple waterfalls along the way.

Photo by Marco Pregnolato on Unsplash

At last, we reached the scenic town of Brienz, situated at the base of the mountains. The moment I got off the train in Brienz, I was captivated by the town’s enchanting appeal. The streets were lined with beautiful wooden houses that were built with beautifully carved details. I strolled through the winding streets and the promenade, taking in the charm of the town. But it was the natural beauty of Brienz that truly took my breath away. The crystal-clear waters of Lake Brienz sparkled in the sunshine, and the surrounding mountains provided a stunning backdrop to the town’s photogenic setting. There is an older steam train that can take people up to Brienzer Rothron's Peak for an amazing view of the lake.

I’m taking something steamy as well. But instead of the train, I’m taking a boat to go across the lake and the great thing is, the ferry ride is included in my interrail pass!

As I boarded the old-style steam ferry in Brienz, I was transported to another era. The boat made chugging and hissing sounds as it pulled away from the dock, and I could hear the water lapping against the sides of the boat. We sailed across the crystal-clear waters of Lake Brienz, passing charming lakeside villages like Iseltwald and the famous Giessbach Falls, and offering breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains. The open deck of the boat allowed me to feel the refreshing breeze on my face. The color, the sunshine, the beauty all around, the fresh air — it felt like heaven!

Photo by Prakarsh Saxena on Unsplash | Photo by Daniel Fazio on Unsplash

As we approached Interlaken Ost, the ferry slowed down, and I savored the final moments of the journey.

Here, the train station is just beside the ferry jetty. Interlaken is probably the most famous spot in Switzerland for tourists from all around the globe. For the famous mountains, train/gondola rides, picture-perfect, villages, and lakes — I have a whole itinerary prepared only for this region only. But that’s for another day. Now, I hopped on the golden pass line train again to continue my journey.

The train began to wind its way up into the mountains, passing through charming villages and offering breathtaking views. We soon arrived in Zweisimmen, a quaint town with beautiful wooden chalets and a picturesque church that added to the town’s charm. As we traveled by train toward Gstaad, I couldn’t help but be amazed by the beautiful views outside. We passed by green fields and thick woods, deep valleys, and even caught sight of some mountain tops far away. The journey was made even more special by the comfortable seats and large windows that offered unobstructed views of the scenery.

Photo by Marco Meyer on Unsplash

When we reached Gstaad by train, I was instantly charmed by the town’s beauty and sophistication. Set in a scenic valley and surrounded by green hills and tall mountains, Gstaad is a real treasure in the Swiss Alps. The town is famous for its fancy hotels, expensive shops, and fine dining, attracting many wealthy and famous visitors. But even with its reputation as a place for the rich, Gstaad has kept its traditional Alpine charm with well-kept wooden chalets and a lovely town center. I walked around the streets made for pedestrians and enjoyed looking at the stylish shops and pretty flower boxes on every window. Gstaad is also a great place for outdoor activities with trails for hiking and biking in the nearby hills and valleys, and ski slopes not far away. And of course, there’s a small private airport for the wealthy.

Gstaad

After spending some time exploring Gstaad, I boarded the next train on the Golden Pass line and settled in for the final stretch of my journey. This time it is actually a train in the color of gold!
As we left Gstaad by train, I saw amazing views of the mountains and valleys around us. We went by lovely villages and green hills, and I noticed how different the greenery looked next to the snowy mountain tops. Then they reached the highest point and started descending towards Lake Geneva and I saw the bright blue water of the lake for the first time shining in the summer sun. What amazing scenery it was!

When we got close to Montreux, I was amazed by how pretty the town was with its colorful buildings and palm trees on the promenade. Montreux is a popular place to visit because of its beautiful views of the lake and mountains, nice weather, and famous Jazz Festival. Also, this place is quite a magnet for rich people all along the shore of this giant lake. The statue of Freddy Mercury, the legendary vocalist of the band Queen is definitely something to notice.

The train ride today made me feel both exhilarated and relaxed. What a journey it has been on this Golden Pass Line! Mountains pass, small/big lakes, and boat ride in between, couldn’t have asked for a better ride. And walking by the promenade of Lake Geneva, enjoying the liveliness here on this beautiful sunny summer afternoon, have to call an end to this fulfilling day.

Photo by Prakarsh Saxena on Unsplash

Another sunny day, a bit warmer than the other warm days so far! So, today we are heading toward a bit of an altitude to reduce the effect of the heat.

Today we are heading towards Interlaken we crossed yesterday. Usually, this is a location where travelers come and spend at least a couple of nights. But as I’m staying in Bern with my friends within an hour-long train ride, I can visit this place multiple times anyways.

So, I began my exploration of the Bernese Oberland region from Interlaken, situated between two beautiful lakes, Lake Brienz and Lake Thun. This place is known for its stunning mountain scenery and outdoor adventures, with numerous hiking and biking trails leading to scenic vistas and hidden valleys.

Photo by Samuel Ferrara on Unsplash

From Interlaken, I took the train to Wengen, a picturesque, car-free village located in the Bernese Oberland region of Switzerland, accessible only by train that climbs steep mountain tracks offering amazing views all around. I couldn’t believe the stunning views of the mountains and valleys around the village, including the famous Eiger, Mönch, and Jungfrau peaks.

Wengen is a popular spot for skiing and snowboarding in winter with runs and trails for all skill levels. In summer, visitors can hike or take a cable car to the top of the mountain for breathtaking views. I decided to follow a short hiking trail to Staubbachbänkli and was rewarded with a gorgeous view of the snow-covered mountains and the valley below. I laid down on the bench under the share of a tree and had my lunch there with a prepacked sandwich while enjoying this magnificent view. A moment to remember really!

Next, I took the train down from Wengen to Lauterbrunnen, a charming village located in a lush valley surrounded by towering cliffs and waterfalls. I’ve seen so many photos of this small village on the internet, it feels unreal that I’m now experiencing this in real!
The village offers numerous hiking trails, including the famous Staubbach Falls, which cascades down from a height of over 900 feet and I did go up until the mid of the waterfall.
Lauterbrunnen is also a popular base for exploring the surrounding mountains, with cable cars and cogwheel trains leading up to scenic peaks and vistas. But, that was already a day-long roaming and chilling in the mountains.

It was 32 degrees Celsius even in the mountains. So, after a long warm day of hiking under the sun and resting in the shades, it’s time to cool down a bit in the alpine holy water of Lake Brienz. What an amazing day and amazing scenery to appreciate, this was a complete day and for sure I wish to come back to visit the rest of the region on a future trip!

Photo by ruben daems on Unsplash

Back in the day, when I was a kid, I used to buy a candy called — Alpenliebe, which means “love from the Alps”. The candy cover had a photo of a dreamy mountain peak. But, only when I grew up, I got to know that the photo was actually of the iconic Swiss mountain — Matterhorn. And today, it’s time to see the giant with my own eyes!

My journey to Zermatt started in Bern as usual, where I hopped on a train that took me through some of Switzerland’s most picturesque landscapes. The train ride itself was an experience, passing through lush green valleys, rolling hills, and quaint Swiss villages. After a few hours, I arrived in the charming town of Zermatt, located in the Valais canton at the base of the famous Matterhorn peak.

I was enchanted by the village of Zermatt with its lovely wooden chalets, warm restaurants, and stylish shops selling outdoor gear and souvenirs. But what really took my breath away was the stunning view of the Matterhorn from almost everywhere in the village. The peak stood tall in the skyline with its sharp shape and steep drop, making it one of the most famous and iconic mountains in the world. I couldn’t take my eyes off it really!

Photo by Leah Wang on Unsplash | Photo by Daniel Cox on Unsplash

I took the cogwheel train from Zermatt up to Sunnegga, a scenic plateau overlooking the valley. The journey itself was an adventure, with the train snaking its way up the mountainside through tunnels and over bridges. Once at Sunnegga, coming out of the cowheel train, my jaws dropped just by looking around! Zermatt felt like just in front and the other mountains around it seemed even closer.

I hiked a short distance to see two nearby alpine lakes, Leisee and Mosjesee. The lakes were small but interesting in color. One was greenish and the other one was whitish because of the different minerals collected at the bottom. Surrounded by the peaks of the Alps, the views were breathtaking.

After my hike, I returned to Leisee to take a refreshing swim in the clear waters. The cold water was refreshing and the scenery and then laying down on the green grass, with the mountains towering above me and the sun shining down, was truly unforgettable. Overall, my visit to Zermatt was definitely one of the highlights of my trip to Switzerland, and I left feeling grateful for the opportunity to experience such natural beauty.

Photo by Evan Qu on Unsplash | Photo by Ilia Bronskiy on Unsplash

It’s time to leave the comfort of my friend’s house and venture deeper into the adventure. Today, the famous glacier express route is going to be my track for the day with a twist!

Glacier Express Train is a panoramic train that runs between the Alpine towns of Zermatt and Davos/St. Moritz, passing multiple mountain passes, tunnels, and valleys offering an out-of-the-world view. But, I’m going to skip the original train, instead, I’m taking older regional trains where I can get off at any point I feel like, a free bird!

Photo by Hem Poudyal on Unsplash

I started my journey in Brig, a quaint town in the canton of Valais, at the base of the Alps. It has a charming old town with a stunning baroque palace and a 17th-century tower. It is also a great starting point for many hiking and skiing trips, such as Zermatt, Saas-Fee, and Belalp. Also a train changing point for regional passengers.

The train ride from Brig to Andermatt was very very scenic. I passed through some of the most gorgeous valleys and mountains in Switzerland. I saw green fields, blue rivers, and cute villages. The train also crossed the famous Furka Pass, where the Rhone Glacier and its ice grotto could be seen. On the way, there was the annual scout campaign happing in the valley. Almost 30000 participants which consist of mostly kids and teenagers, came here for a few days to camp and learn the scout way of life. Cannot say that I didn’t envy these kids a tiny bit!

Andermatt was my next stop. It is a cozy mountain resort in the canton of Uri, surrounded by four Alpine passes. It has a rich history, dating back to Roman times. It was also an important military base during World War II and the activity is still visible. What I found interesting is seeing numerous bunkers in the mountains. I heard about Switzerland having enough bunkers for its whole population but seeing it firsthand was amazing.

Photo by Fabian9799 on Unsplash

But the most interesting point I was drawn to was the Devil’s Bridge, a stone arch that spans the raging Reuss River in a narrow gorge. As I stepped onto the bridge, I felt both amazed and scared. The bridge was an amazing work of engineering, but it also made me think of the scary legend about it. The story says that the Devil built the bridge and in return, he would get the soul of the first person who walked across it. The villagers outsmarted him by sending a goat instead of a human. The Devil was furious and tried to destroy the bridge with a huge boulder, but he missed and the boulder landed nearby. I could see the boulder from the bridge, and I wondered if it was really thrown by the Devil or just a natural rock formation. Either way, it added to the mystery and charm of this place.

After a brief lunch break in Andermaztt, I’m back on the train again to my next destination. The train drove along the scenic Oberalp Pass and reached Disentis, a charming town in the Vorderrheintal Valley. I was curious to see the Benedictine monastery that dominates the town. The monastery was started in the 8th century by a monk named Sigisbert who traveled around and his friend Placidus who lived nearby. It’s one of the oldest monasteries in Switzerland and has a lot of history and culture. I loved seeing the pretty art and buildings of the monastery like the church in the baroque style, the library, and the museum. The monastery was a peaceful and inspiring place for sure.

Along this route from Andermatt to Disentis, I had a chance to see one of the largest scout camps in Europe: Jamboree 2023. This is an annual event where more than 30'000 scouts from all over Switzerland gather for 10 days of fun and adventure in nature. Most of them are school-going kids. The campsite was so huge that it covered two train stops from start to finish. I couldn’t but really appreciate the lifetime memories kids are going to make in such experiences.

Source: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Kloster_Disentis_Mai_2011.JPG

After Disentis, Chur was my final destination. The train started to drive downhill and slowly ventured into the oldest city in Switzerland and the capital of the canton of Graubünden. And after a full day in trains and absorbing amazing scenery, it’s time to take a break here in a small single-room hotel that I booked earlier. The day cooled down with a bit of cool wind and thunderstorms and looking through the window to the pristine nature outside, I can’t but feel really grateful for such a wonderful day of travel.

Chur is a lovely town with a pretty old town that has small streets, bright houses, old towers, and fountains. There’s also a cathedral, a palace for the bishop, many museums and galleries, and a busy market square. Chur is also a place where you can catch other trains like the Bernina Express to Tirano in Italy or the Rhaetian Railway to Davos or St. Moritz. I spent a couple of hours in the morning venturing around the Saturday market in the old town. A nice cute market that spans beyond the main square to the alleys.

From Chur, I got back on the train track to start the most epic train journey in Switzerland — The Bernina Express Line. The train climbs up the winding mountain tracks passing the highest train tunnel in Switzerland Albula Tunnel. The highlight of this section was definitely the UNESCO Site Landwasser Viaduct in Filisur. It seemed like the train just went straight into a sheer rock face, which certainly made me jump from my seat and look out more carefully through the window. And I couldn’t but resist getting off at the nearby train station Filisur to get a better view of the viaduct. The station store owner was kind enough to keep my bags for a couple of hours, which made the walk to the viaduct much easier and enjoyable.

Photo by Johannes Hofmann on Unsplash | Photo by Chris Henry on Unsplash

From Filisur, I’m kinda taking a detour. Took a train towards Davos, the city I only heard about for World Economic Forum where rich people gather every year! I knew nothing else. The train route is beautiful as usual, there were many stations where to stop the train, passengers need to press a button, not something I’ve seen for trains before. Usually, this kinda stop applies to buses or trams sometimes.

My friends from before were also visiting Davos, so as a bonus, I got invited to a local priest's house to enjoy some freshly baked Pizza. Also, I’ve never met a female priest or even had ideas about it before, so quite a few learnings!

My night stay was a few kilometers far from Davos in a tiny village. A camping hostel by a mountain stream. The sound of the water flowing downstream and the crickets chirping made it such a peaceful experience, I can hardly describe it in words.

The next morning, I used my guest card to take advantage of the reduced-fare cable cars and buses in Davos. I decided to visit the Parsenn ski area, which offered panoramic views of the surrounding mountains and valleys at an altitude of 2800m+. In the morning, I was the only one at the peak, and I felt so lucky when I saw a pack of Ibexes roaming near the peak. The town below was cloudy but here it’s all sunny and I could see far away peaks. What a treat to the eyes in such an unplanned part of the trip!

I returned to Davos and boarded another regional train to Filisur and then Tirano, following the Bernina Express route. This was one of the most spectacular train journeys I have ever taken for sure, passing through glaciers, lakes, forests, and villages. The train climbed up to 2253 m above sea level at Ospizio Bernina, the highest point on the route. The lake, the Bernina massif, the color of the water, what a place to have a train station. The train then descended into the Val Poschiavo, a valley with a different climate and culture.

I decided to get off at Alp Grüm, a small station with a restaurant and hotel. But what a view, probably the best train station so far on this trip. A glacier, waterfalls rushing down to a blue-white lake below, the trains spiraling downwards, can’t ask for a better setup to enjoy some food or drinks in the restaurant with the station.

I continued my journey to Tirano, passing by more scenic sights along the way. I saw Lake Bianco, a turquoise lake that reflects the mountains; Cavaglia Glacier Garden, a natural wonder with giant potholes carved by ice; Brusio Circular Viaduct, a spiral bridge that helps the train adjust its altitude; and Poschiavo, a charming town with a historic center.

Photo by Azzedine Rouichi on Unsplash

I arrived in Tirano feeling happy and fulfilled. What a journey, how many pictures to remember! I experienced one of the most beautiful and diverse landscapes in Europe on a single train ride. And I don’t know any better way to celebrate this breathtaking journey than with some Italian Pizza, without breaking my budget at last, haha.

Now, reflecting on my journey through Switzerland, I can’t help but feel grateful for the memories I’ve made. Traveling by train allowed me to see the country in a way I never could have imagined. The stunning landscapes, friendly locals, and rich history and culture have left an indelible mark on my heart. It’s taught me the value of taking things slow and enjoying every little bit of the journey. If you ever have the chance to visit this beautiful country, do yourself a favor and take the train. Trust me, you won’t regret it.

As I close this chapter of my travels, I’m left with a sense of awe and wonder. There are simply no words to fully capture the magic of this experience. My hope is that one day you’ll have the chance to discover it for yourself 🤞.

--

--