Self-quarantine & me

Sah. V. Lasso
life & about
Published in
2 min readMar 17, 2020
Photo by Keegan Houser on Unsplash

After coming back from a business trip to France and Luxembourg, I got sick. I knew about the new coronavirus and how it was making its way to Europe so I was cautious. I traveled with a hand sanitizer, avoided crowds, washed my hands whenever possible…

When back to Copenhagen, I was not getting better, coughing, chest pain, and a sensation I had a hairball on my chest (like cats) that wouldn´t go away. I called the doctors and they tell just told me that the countries I visited were not considered critical so there was no need to test me.

I decided to self-quarantine myself anyway. You see, I work with a team of 12 people, I go to meetings, events…also, I have neighbors…so there is a lot of people that could be potentially contaminated by me.

Please, don´t get me wrong. I´m not affirming that I had the coronavirus or anything. Even if it is an ordinary cold or flu, it is the right thing to do. To stay away from others, especially if they can get sick or do not have a good immune system.

Photo by Simon Migaj on Unsplash

It´s been more than a week I´m home.

My laptop and phone seem way less interesting after that long.

I began reading, writing, doing wine art, gardening, painting…things that normally I wouldn´t have a lot of time to do it.

Staying home is not that difficult for me, I´m not that social but hen you stay more than a week home your mental health starts to crash.

Anyway, all this to say that it´s not all fun to work from home or stay at home all the time. However, it is not only about me or you. It is about us, as a society, we need to take care of others, of all of us…and sometimes that means social distance and staying home.

ps: do not forget to check on your neighbors, even by message :) maybe they need you!

--

--

Sah. V. Lasso
life & about

Curious and focused as a cat with a laser. Expert in jumping out from the comfort zone by doing things I´m not good at! Publishing here since Sep 20, 2017.