The myth of perfect productivity while in quarantine

Sah. V. Lasso
life & about
Published in
2 min readApr 16, 2020
Photo by Rick Mason on Unsplash

As social media goes, it looks like the quarantine is a fairy tale time:

  • everybody is working from home as happy as ever
  • all companies are fully productive in remote work
  • all companies went for online services/products
  • parents with kids are working full time and teaching

However, we cannot believe in fairy tales, right?

It is time to admit that is not being easy on anyone.

I don´t have kids and I struggle with remote work, with staying home all day and the news is always so disturbing that for the sake of my mental health I'm not reading anymore.

I cannot imagine how hard this is on parents with small kids…they have to work from home, teach and entertain the kids, take care of the house…it is no easy thing.

Photo by Ferenc Horvath on Unsplash

The productivity image that I see on social media is overwhelming and it can also be a trigger for mental health in people that don´t feel that are as productive as everyone else is / or is showing to be.

Some days I am productive, some days I just stay in bed, some days I cook, some days I just have one meal because I don´t wanna wash dishes and cook…and all that is ok.

Also, we have to admit that although some companies can go online, can get the government's support, others just can´t. Some companies are going bankrupt, firing people, losing all their revenue, not able to pay rent…things are not smooth for everyone.

In this time of chaos, crisis and coronavirus, we shouldn´t be comparing our routine to others, our companies to others…we should focus on helping each other as we can, doing the best we can in the current situation we are in, and especially not feeling guilty of not being perfect or productive in this situation.

--

--

Sah. V. Lasso
life & about

Curious and focused as a cat with a laser. Expert in jumping out from the comfort zone by doing things I´m not good at! Publishing here since Sep 20, 2017.