UFC fights : a life lesson

what I am learning with UFC

Sah. V. Lasso
life & about
3 min readFeb 16, 2018

--

picture from TheMacLiFE

I learnt that like any other thing in life: some people really like UFC and some other people hate it.

I´m the kind the loves UFC and McGregor & Cris Cyborg are my favorites.

I know, it is not the most famous sport among girls, its kind of violent but if you see it as it truly is: a sport, you can see how nice it is. I also know that they hit each other, there is a lot of blood and it is not suitable for all ages like soccer for example, but it gained my heart some time ago.

I do my best to watch online live but sometimes because of the time zone differences I watch on the other day and read the comments about it. The event itself, before the event and the comments after are full of lessons, and here is the most important for me.

Self marketing & self image

picture from TheSun

Just look at this picture of McGregor…he looks so confident, his body posture is beautiful.

In UFC, the fighters have an amazing self image and self marketing. Of course there is a lot of “dirty talk” on the interviews but they all know how good they can perform.

In life, sometimes we can forget how good we are and we start doubting our skills, letting our self image go down. I know that I doubt myself a lot, feel stupid and like I didn´t belong where I am, but do you thing McGregor doubts himself? NO WAY.

picture from MMA junkie

The fighters show a self esteem like if they could conquer the world and sometimes we (non MMA fighters) need it in our daily lives.

Of course, there is a lot of preparation, training and kick on the face, but it can easily be compared to academic life for example, we also study (like they study their opponent), we read and write a lot (like they train a lot) but we can fail in having this self marketing, which end up giving us a huge impostor syndrome.

picture from MMA fighting.com

That is the biggest life lesson I´m learning with UFC: to know my value and have a nice self marketing, instead of saying that I cannot do this or that, and selling me short.

Just like everything in life, if you study, do a lot of training and prepare yourself, you are going be great!

--

--

Sah. V. Lasso
life & about

Curious and focused as a cat with a laser. Expert in jumping out from the comfort zone by doing things I´m not good at! Publishing here since Sep 20, 2017.