Why do I write?

A personal but still superficial analysis

Sah. V. Lasso
life & about
2 min readOct 2, 2018

--

“watch at 8:45” by Jess Watters on Unsplash

I don´t know why but every day I feel a need to write something. It can be random ideas, about my day, poems…anything! I just feel like I need to take things out of my mind.

That is probably the reason why I´m the notebook crazy lady. I have loads of them everywhere! In bags, at home, office…I hate the idea of not having where to write if a good idea comes.

Sure, I can write on my phone but it is not the same.

Phones are cold and still are not the perfect substitutes to paper and pen.

But I guess that is the reason I write:

I feel an urgent need to take things out of my mind.

“photo of lava flowing on land” by Marc Szeglat on Unsplash

It is almost like if my head would explode (volcano style) if I do not write down my crazy ideas as soon as they come (and believe me, they come fast and in groups!).

It is silly, I know.

I don´t write because of a philosophical religious political financial marketing reason.

It is a personal (and even maybe selfish) decision to empty my brain as it can drive me insane with all the material it creates by itself.

It might be also a mental health decision since it makes me reflect on what I write and the ideas I´m having, besides being very relaxing and helps me with my anxiety.

So yes, if you are reading this: it is just me trying to explain my selfish decision and action to write.

--

--

Sah. V. Lasso
life & about

Curious and focused as a cat with a laser. Expert in jumping out from the comfort zone by doing things I´m not good at! Publishing here since Sep 20, 2017.