Albemarle Rangers

Albemarle, NC

Zac Hines
TriSocPod
2 min readJun 7, 2020

--

For this edition of 100 NC Soccer clubs we head to the town of Ablemarle. Home to more than 16,000, the town sits at the base of the Uwharrie mountain range, where I got idea for the Rangers name.

The crest features two snowcapped mountains on a green background to help represent the national forest. The town itself uses an earth tone palette, and the green and brown being used in the kit and crest would convey a theme of forests and a park ranger.

Webb Athletic Field

Albemarle has Webb Athletic Field, a field downtown with stands already built in. With a few upgrades and lighting, this could be a lovely soccer stadium in the middle of downtown and become an epicenter of the town.

Albemarle currently has a team called Broncos United FC NC, one of a few teams under the Broncos United brand. I decided to start from scratch for this team since that team doesn’t have an identity with the region, which was one of my primary goals from the start of this project.

The kit, unsurprisingly, continues the forest motif, using the green and brown colors and white stripe on the side to help others envision snow-capped mountains or trees.

Special thanks to Russell Varner for his help editing.

About me
First and foremost I am an amateur with no formal training. My hope is that this series will spark other creatives to make their own versions. Learn more about the series here. I was born and raised in Middlesex, North Carolina and have spent most of my adult life living in Raleigh. I am a fan of the beautiful game who wants to see it grow at the grassroots level.

--

--