Cape Fear FC

Leland, NC

Zac Hines
TriSocPod
2 min readJun 14, 2020

--

For Leland I wanted lean into the 90s color scheme that is often related to the beach. The Cape Fear name I pulled from their location within the region of the same name. Leland isn’t the only city on the list in the Cape Fear region, but Wilmington has a fan-favorite club that I will be re-branding in a future article in this series. Cape Fear FC would call Cape Fear Regional Soccer Complex home. In my research I saw there were plans to turn the main field into a proper stadium with stands and lighting.

I wanted to lean into the bright colors and stark contrast so thought a banner logo would be the best vehicle for that. The font I thought captured the 90s with its extra swoops and the lines under the letters. Fear sits on the larger banner as a stronger focal point, I had an idea that the team would be nicknamed “the fear” which creates a juxtaposition of something scary associated with bright fun colors.

I kept the same motif forward with the kits, using sharp lines to let the colors contrast and do most of the work. There are numerous color combinations that the team could pull from to create memorable kits over the years.

Special thanks to Russell Varner for his help editing.

About me
First and foremost I am an amateur with no formal training. My hope is that this series will spark other creatives to make their own versions. Learn more about the series here. I was born and raised in Middlesex, North Carolina and have spent most of my adult life living in Raleigh. I am a fan of the beautiful game who wants to see it grow at the grassroots level.

--

--