Charlotte Independence

Charlotte, NC

Zac Hines
TriSocPod
2 min readJul 4, 2020

--

For Charlotte I knew I wasn’t going to be able to recreate Jack riding on his horse, so I needed to change my approach. I landed on using American Revolution and classic Americana imagery instead to stay on theme with the Meck Dec.

The base of the logo is a blue ribbon, which associated with fairs across the county and feels classically American to me. Instead of the ribbon continuing down like normal I used a horizontal banner to house the team name. The last elements of the new logo consist of basically Captain America’s shield. Murica!

Concept Design For Memorial Stadium

The Independence would finally call Memorial Stadium in uptown home. The new design concept has a nice bowl shape where you should be able to still see the game while on the concourse. The stadium also has a nice view of downtown.

At first, I wanted to make Independence fans happy with a mock-up that is a parchment base color, but I wasn’t happy with anything I came up with. Instead I used the dark blue as the base but used more parchment for highlights. The final touch was the starburst effect coming from the crest to mimic fireworks. Murica!

Special thanks to Russell Varner for his help editing.

About me
First and foremost I am an amateur with no formal training. My hope is that this series will spark other creatives to make their own versions. Learn more about the series here. I was born and raised in Middlesex, North Carolina and have spent most of my adult life living in Raleigh. I am a fan of the beautiful game who wants to see it grow at the grassroots level.

--

--