Elon Root FC

Elon, NC

Zac Hines
TriSocPod
3 min readJun 21, 2020

--

There were two avenues I could pull from for inspiration for Elon’s soccer club — the town itself and the university. Both entities use vastly different color schemes. The town uses a dark green and dark gold, while the university makes use of maroon and a brighter shade of gold. In the end I went with the town’s earth tones, as the town seal is basically a soccer crest already.

In my research on the town I learned that “elon” means “tree” or “oak tree” in Hebrew. I find tree imagery hard to work with in general and I would be up against the town’s current logo, so I worked backwards by starting with a unique container with two traditional soccer balls embraced by oak leaves. The name “root” ties in with the origin of the town name and gives them a unique moniker to stand out.

Town of Elon Logo
Rudd Stadium, Elon University

Elon Root would call Rudd Stadium at Elon University home. The university has been putting funding into their athletic programs over the years and included in that is a retrofitted soccer stadium. This is the first college stadium in the series and brings up an interesting dynamic. There are multiple colleges with soccer-specific stadiums that are also very expensive to rent and have restrictions on alcohol. If we could figure out how to work these issues out, it would open up a lot of options.

For the kit I used the cream as a base that helps the gold and green hoops pop. I expect a lot of green will be in the mountain teams as this project goes on, so using the green here as a secondary hopefully won’t clash too much.

Special thanks to Russell Varner for his help editing.

About me
First and foremost I am an amateur with no formal training. My hope is that this series will spark other creatives to make their own versions. Learn more about the series here. I was born and raised in Middlesex, North Carolina and have spent most of my adult life living in Raleigh. I am a fan of the beautiful game who wants to see it grow at the grassroots level.

--

--