Granville County

Oxford, NC

Zac Hines
TriSocPod
2 min readJul 11, 2020

--

For Oxford I wanted to keep the design simple. Oxford is the seat of Granville county whose flag is white diamonds on a red background, which makes for a perfect design on either a crest, jersey or, in this case, both. For the crest I darkened up the red to a burgundy to match the colors Oxford uses on their website and brought over diamonds to be the focal point. Keeping with my premise to keep the crest simple, I used a font that reminded me of older English club crests with the team name and the year the county was ratified.

For their home fields I found two locations that could work. The first is Granville Athletic Park, a park south of Oxford that has two soccer fields but doesn’t have infrastructure like lighting or stands. On the other hand, Oxford Athletic Park to the north of Oxford has an American football field with lighting and stands already set up. With a little retrofitting, it could easily become set up for soccer.

Oxford Athletic Park

For the kit we return to Nike as the base. For the home kit I wanted to keep the diamond pattern, but due to limitations of the program I use wasn’t able to carry over the large diamonds that I would have put across the chest. Instead I went with a repeating checker pattern. Looking back at the finished project I like it better than I expected and it would leave room for the away kit to have the large diamonds with inverted colors.

Special thanks to Russell Varner for his help editing.

About me
First and foremost I am an amateur with no formal training. My hope is that this series will spark other creatives to make their own versions. Learn more about the series here. I was born and raised in Middlesex, North Carolina and have spent most of my adult life living in Raleigh. I am a fan of the beautiful game who wants to see it grow at the grassroots level.

--

--