Carnival Education

Hotmart
Trooper’s B-Sides EN
3 min readFeb 20, 2020

Identifying the issue, solving the problem and scaling the solution. These are vital skills for anyone who works in direct contact with customers, whether creating content for their audience or generating insights for one of their accounts. Our Trooper Isabela Queiroz is an Account Manager at Hotmart and she applies this formula both to work and to her personal life.

Bebel, as she is better known, is a Carnival enthusiast. At the age of thirteen, she went to her first festivity, fell in love and never looked back. “Before going to Diamantina, a colonial town in northeast Minas Gerais, I figured Carnival was awful. I would stay in my hometown or go to my grandma’s house and the streets were deserted. I learned there was “life” in Carnival after I went to Diamantina and ended up going for eight years in a row .” The Trooper also says that after that, she went to other famous Carnival towns such as Ouro Preto, Pompéu, Abaeté, and even Cabo Frio.

In 2017, some friends convinced her to spend the festivities in Belo Horizonte and told her that the previous year had been a lot of fun. However, Bebel came across a problem, “I wanted to enjoy the Carnival in Belo Horizonte to the fullest, but when I looked for information about the street festivities to get my ducks in a row, I realized that there wasn’t much information out there, and what I could actually find was outdated. That’s when I decided to put together a spreadsheet according to my interests and share it with my close friends.” Except, she went viral.

That’s how “Se Tem Broquin Eu Vou” (If there’s a party, I’m there) was born, a group for Carnival lovers about rehearsals, news, and parades. In 2018, what began as a plain spreadsheet and instant messaging among friends, grew into social media channels with thousands of followers and became a reference in Belo Horizonte. It surpassed official pages’ engagement, which mostly had scattered information. And it all happened organically, without the need to invest in ads or paid media. The secret? Delivering quality content that solves a common pain point.

“In the beginning, I needed to chase after the street festivities to get access to information. Now, people come to me looking for partnerships and to spread the news. We are able to give visibility to street parties that are new, and make the most diverse groups feel represented, thus making sure that Carnival is for everyone, as it should be. People who want to enjoy the parties but are by themselves can look us up and stay with us for the rest of the festivities”.

The project, which is currently led by Isabela and a partner designer, not only keeps her close to what she loves, but it also gives her the opportunity to improve her communication skills for the professional environment with a genuine smile on her face. More than that, it gives her the opportunity to learn something new every single day, which is, by the way, one of the mantras that make up Hotmart’s culture. Something tells me her Carnival education is far from over.

--

--

Hotmart
Trooper’s B-Sides EN

Hotmart is the most comprehensive platform for those who wish to create a digital business. www.hotmart.com