The (Mis)Trial of Usher Randall

Kiet Aksorpan
troubleshooters
Published in
2 min readSep 26, 2018

As it turns out, LUXos will be taking Usher Randall to court. If I know LUXos (and I do know LUXos), this will be unlike any trial you or I have seen before.

Do not expect straight-laced, traditional legal proceedings that prioritize rationality or clarity or even legality. Do expect a concoction of shenanigans and showbotship splayed out over the course of five days. This trial will be a spectacle, if you happen to be interested in that sort of thing.

I, for one, am not.

What I am interested in is how LUXos will rectify the massive property damage incident that occurred several weeks ago.

The John Pointe unit, the victim of Usher Randall’s alleged “man”-slaughter, is a highly functional android. While it is impossible to murder that which never had life, it is possible to total an eight million dollar robot.

If I were LUXos (although I am not LUXos), I would do everything in my power to gain that money, even if it meant prosecuting a man whose innocence is corroborated by vast amounts of evidence. We know Usher Randall’s “self-help group,” the 8th Row, has its hooks in every corner of the world. LUXos must be looking to exploit this for money.

That LUXos is bringing criminal charges and trying Usher Randall in a so-called criminal court is irrelevant. This is LUXos’s trial. If it wants Usher Randall to pay, he will pay.

And if LUXos for some reason decides to forget the little sum of money it lost when doling out the sentence, well, perhaps I may even sue the little rascal myself.

--

--