LSD Tourism -A Trip in Rome

Glenn M Stewart
True Confessional

--

How I failed to see Rome but saw the hand of God instead-He played the violin

When I was 17 years old, I spent two months travelling through Europe. It was 1972 so the tail end of the era of hippies and psychedelic escapes to enjoy the alternate reality of a ‘higher consciousness’.

I had embraced a number of aspects of the so-called counterculture, steeped myself in Alan Watts Manual of Zen Buddhism, Ram Dass’ Be Here Now, Abbie Hoffman’s Woodstock Nation, and Steal This Book, Carlos Casteneda’s Don Juan, A Yaqui Way of Knowledge, Herman Hesse’s Journey to the East and of course Aldous Huxley’s The Doors of Perception.

I still have my Yippie Party manifesto. If you zoom in, you can read the small text for the fun of it.

And of course, there were drugs and plenty of them. My discovery of marijuana at the age of 15 ensured that I never made Eagle Scout! During the summer of 1971 my best friend and I took LSD numerous times and mescaline a few times. I particularly enjoyed the latter drug.

I will not recant like so many people and try to pretend that my use of hallucinogenics was anything but fun. However, it did not raise our…

--

--

Glenn M Stewart
True Confessional

Pugilist, polemicist, Oxford Arabist, financial mastermind, international man of mystery, film producer, playwright, part-time-poet, full-time provocateur…