Detour: Arizona & New Mexico

Lou Schachter
True Crime Road Trip
2 min readApr 19, 2024

--

This week delivered a surprise. My stories have begun to connect me to people living in the places I write about.

I’ve been on the road all week. In Scottsdale, the reporter who has covered the de Kooning story since it began interviewed me on the street in front of the auction house that sold the two paintings I discovered were stolen.

In Taos, where an Albuquerque TV reporter had invited me, the staff at the Harwood Museum treated me like a hero for finding their lost art. Their heartfelt joy overwhelmed me. They’ve asked me to come back soon to speak at an event they will pull together. Going through the back hallways of the Harwood Museum and having tacos with their team in the dining room of the old adobe home (where Georgia O’Keefe once bunked) opened a lens into Taos I would never have seen as a tourist.

The Harwood Museum in Taos. Photo: Lou Schachter.

Finally, in Silver City, NM, the Albuquerque TV crew got more footage of me and interviewed the three antiques dealers who found the de Kooning and inspired this whole set of stories. I spent the afternoon in their store, chatting with them and seeing how their shop provides a hub for the entire community. I also met one of the members of the garden club that received the proceeds from the auction. Hanging out with locals is an amazing way to get to know a place.

The three owners of Manzanita Ridge Furniture & Antiques: Buck Burns, Rick Johnson, and David Van Auker. Photo: Lou Schachter.

The wheels have begun to move on an FBI investigation into the theft of the Harwood paintings. (To see my original story, click HERE). I’ll post an update on that when there is news.

Copyright © 2024 Lou Schachter • All rights reserved

--

--

Lou Schachter
True Crime Road Trip

A storyteller exploring the intersection of true crime mysteries and travel.