When My Friend Hit That Homeless Guy

God, I love New York!

Tracy Busby
True F*cking Story

--

Photo by ian dooley on Unsplash

I so loved living in New York. Being a live-in nanny was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. Fucking it up was a big mistake, but that’s beside the point. I didn’t live in Manhattan but I dreamed of doing that. I lived with a family in Hartsdale and took care of their one-year-old boy. Couldn’t have had a better job at that time in my life.

I made other nanny friends, so we all had the same schedules and we all had the same lives basically. We understood each other. And we all loved hanging out it NYC. I couldn’t believe my friend Mindy would actually take us in there in her car. She would drive in New York City! I mean, I barely will drive in Milwaukee! I will have to get okay with that now that we plan on moving there, but I’m 49. We were in our twenties.

I remember watching her from the back seat, looking over her shoulder, checking her blind spot, hitting the gas, then the brake, fast turn, hit the gas, then blinker, then, “Oh shit. That’s a ONE WAY!” Blinker off, hit the gas. Horns honking. “They’re not supposed to be honking their horns in the city.”

“What?” I asked.

“No. There are signs,” she answered. “There’s an ordinance that you can’t use your horn in the city.”

--

--

Tracy Busby
True F*cking Story

Finger painter of words. I just kind of dump them on the page, swirl 'm around and see how it feels.