Ro’s Journey of Love

A story for the True Fiction Project by Priya Sharma Shaikh

True Fiction Project editors
True Fiction Project
5 min readAug 1, 2022

--

Image source: Pexels.com: Ron Lach

The screen lit up. RO, a bright green colored soul, in the Realm, did a few quick twirls. He was excited. Macy Spark was on the screen, again. Her blonde hair framed her beautiful long face. Her deep blue eyes blinked at her reflection in the mirror, before she stepped out of her home. Boston was aglow with sunshine. Macy looked up at the clear sky and hailed a taxi. RO continued to watch her on the screen. He turned to look around for his best friend in the Realm — RA.

“I … spy … with my soul eyes … my best buddy … RA! There you are! You know you can’t hide from me in the Realm!” said RO taking RA into a tizzy twirl.

“Whoa! Slow down RO! What is it?” drawled RA, a yellow colored soul.

“Update on Macy Spark: She is seeing her gynaecologist today. Man, it’s finally going to happen!” said RO and did another set of twirls.

“That’s exciting ha ha ha!” said RA, looking bored stiff, “Choose her already, and let me get my sleep before my onward soul-body journey.”

RO twirled RA again and giggled.

“No, you don’t sleep! Do you know what I like about her RA?” pursued RO.

“… she is close to the One in her beingness and she is adorable, intelligent and kind,” said RA in a robot like tone.

“Yes. You know me so well that’s why you’re my Realm bestie!

“…and that you’ve told me all about Macy over 100 times!”

“I have? Awww … But RA, look at her. The twinkle is still missing from her eyes…but at least the tears have lessened. That last relationship really broke her heart! Urgh! I can’t believe anyone can see hurting and be okay with that. I really want to see her smile again and bring back that twinkle in her eyes. In a conversation with her coach she became aware that having a child will bring her true joy. And that child, my friend, is going to be moi … yours truly! The one who will bring back her smile. Let’s do this Macy! I have chosen you to be my Ma!” gushed RO.

“RO, I’m tired of your endless Macy charade … actually I’m tired of YOU. Don’t follow me,” blurted RA and floated out of the twirling RO’s sight.

Some time had passed when RO tracked RA down again. As expected RA was in deep slumber.

“She’s frozen her eggs, RA,” said RO and plonked onto RA.

RA saw that RO looked forlorn, and said “What do you mean?”

“She’s chosen not to have a baby now. She says science and the magical powers of God can make her have a baby later when she finds her Mr. Right. I celebrated too soon RA — it’s going to be a while before she is a mother. I hope it’s not too late,” said RO.

“Stop being so dramatic. Just choose a different mom,” said RA and pushed RO into a reluctant slow twirl.

“But it won’t be Macy, and I’m running out of time. My color has changed to orange, it’s not long before I’ll turn red and be forced to choose another soul-body,” said RO slouched against RA.

A few weeks had passed, when RO floated excitedly towards a very red RA.

“She’s just returned from a remote village in the mountains in Peru. She’d gone there to follow through on her healing process.”

“I’m not listening anymore.”

RO persisted and said, “Yes, you are. She met a senior Shaman there, who people believe is magically blessed after being struck by lightning twice! His conversations helped her heal.”

RA yawned and tried to make an inconspicuous exit, however, RO’s storytelling and attempts to keep RA engaged were relentless.

“You don’t want to miss this part, buddy,” said the animated RO. “Before leaving Peru, Macy looked up at the sky and called out aloud with tears in her eyes, ‘Help me! I have opened my heart to find love and opened my womb to have a child’. She is ready to have me! She’s been dating again! She met this incredible guy in California and they’re in a long distance relationship. And, here’s the best part, he’s supportive of her decision to have a child on her own.”

“That’s special indeed! She will finally get what she wants,” said RA.

RO took RA into a slow graceful twirl.

Some more time passed and this time RA sought out RO.

“Hey RO, I have news for a change. My soul-body journey is going to begin soon, in a humble home in a place called Andheri in Mumbai India — Looks like it‘s going to be a Punjabi girl pressing the button,” said RA, now very deep red in color, which indicated readiness to unite with a new soul-body.

“I’m really going to miss you RA,” said RO, who had also turned red. “I have news too. Macy finally made her decision to be a single mom and she has chosen to go with one of the IUI’s that has a 6% likelihood of working out. She is not letting off her momentum on the family building now that her mind is made up. And I’m like, you go girl!”

“That is great news, RO! I am sure Macy will have her baby soon. I just hope it is you who are the one that can gurgle your love to her and make her smile,” said RA, and then on seeing RO’s anxiety, added, “I say so because you know we are both deep red now and we will probably start blinking and zap out of here to be with our respective soul-bodies soon,” said RA.

“Yes, I know. I’m anxious for what lies ahead.”

“RO, before we go I have something to say. You know why I’ve always chosen my soul-body blindly? Because as souls we love the bodies we belong to nevertheless. That is our beingness because we are a part of the One. So I’ve never cared about who I’m taking a ride with, because my why is very clear — that I am there to love and partner my soul-body whatever their journey be.”

“Thanks RA, I needed that.”

“I admire your patience for Macy and I wish she happens for you. But wherever you end up being, my friend, I know you will have a great ride, as that is your true beingness. May the power of the One always be,” said RA and took RO into a synchronized twirl.

Just then, RO started blinking.

“Looks like my button is hit, RA,” said RO after several twirls. “Bruh, it’s Macy. I’m going to my chosen Ma. I will bring back that twinkle in her eyes and I’ll meet you right back here, with all my stories,” beamed RO, and in a zap disappeared from the Realm.

RA laughed out aloud, did a gentle twirl, blinked and in a zap disappeared from the Realm too.

Listen to other episodes of the True Fiction Project here:

--

--