Community Is About Weaving Different Relationships Together

A diverse “relationship portfolio” allows different parts of you to come together

Marta Brzosko
Connection Hub

--

Photo by Melissa Askew on Unsplash

It has officially been over two years since I “stepped into community.” I remember setting this intention in the first days of 2021, in the height of lockdown.

Back then, community felt further away then ever.

At the same time, I felt in my bones that my “hermit period” was coming to an end. I was just closing in four years of solitary writing work, coupled with moving places so often that I couldn’t root myself in any community.

In January 2021, I was sowing the first seeds for community as an adult. With my two friends we lived in what we dubbed the “Polish House in Bonnyrigg.” We created a three-person family, who stuck together through the dark winter of 2020/21. We pulled out all kinds of skeletons from the closet as we healed in each other’s presence.

As 2021 turned into 2022, I moved into The Salisbury Centre. There, I realized that community was something even larger than that.

Community isn’t simply about bonding. It’s not just about support and friendships. It’s not even about the healing.

--

--