Is It Safe To Walk Alone At Night?

In The Netherlands

Livvy Skelton-Price
True Travel Tales
Published in
2 min readJun 18, 2024

--

The sky is dark, a road with grass on either side leads out to the distance.
A Dutch road. Photo by Author.

I’ve been told by many people that it’s safe here. Walking alone and walking at night wouldn’t be a problem. Nothing ever happens here.

At least, not in the area that I am living in.

I recently moved accommodation and no longer live right across from the bus stop.

I used to wake up in the morning, look outside and decide to head off. The one-minute walk to the bus might include a “Good Morning” or “Guhen Morher.”

I might pass someone walking their dog or out for a night time stroll.

Because of my job, I am up and ready to go before the sun rises. My job is usually done just as the day is starting.

Today I was able to put safety to the test. I now live in an apartment that is a ten-minute walk from the bus station. And a walk through a park at that.

This morning I woke up, and I wasn’t too concerned at first. I’ve caught the bus many times.

But then my nerves got the better of me. It’s dark outside, I’m a woman, I’m a little small.

My maps took me through little sidewalks, typically these are very pretty during the day but at night I decided to stick to the main road.

--

--

Livvy Skelton-Price
True Travel Tales

Owner of Sense with Cents. Follow the tag 'The Netherlands Diaries.' Substack @livvyskeltonprice Buy my travel guide for The Netherlands https://amzn.to/3N1frWE