Windows and iOS Workflow via Craft and Bear and Things 3

Manny M. Viloria
Truly Rich Pinoy
Published in
2 min readNov 30, 2021

The MacBook SSD failed after 9 years of use, and the service unit recently assigned to me was a laptop running Windows 10. How was I going to work with the data I had built up over the years with the help of the Mac and an iPhone?

The answer: Use Craft, Bear, and Things 3.

You can log into your Craft workspace using both iOS and Windows (Craft web version), and having a Windows laptop keyboard helps you easily capture content.

Then, from Craft (iOS), we can easily link to notes in Bear and tasks in Things 3.

In short, it’s the Craft app that bridges the Windows and iOS worlds. Just keep in mind that it’s easier to build links in iOS than it is in Windows.

So I use Windows mainly for long-form data entry in Craft, because it’s not that convenient to add content to Bear/Things 3 (iOS) using an external keyboard.

With the Windows laptop, I open Outlook (OWA), and then enter tasks in Things 3 (for those email requests that will need more time to fulfill).

This covers both actions I need to actively take, and also those where I wait for others to pitch in.

Things 3 is quite convenient, and when I need to view task-related info in Windows, I just copy the needed Things 3 (iOS) material to a Craft page or document.

I’m composing this Medium post in Craft (Windows — web) before pasting this to Medium.

In the future, I might use iOS to create links to other Craft or Bear notes, or even Things 3 tasks.

In the meantime, I’m able to work even while there’s no MacBook replacement. So happy to have found an alternative.

Manny M. Viloria is an IT Governance Risk and Compliance Manager. He lives in the Philippines, and enjoys helping more people appreciate the life and culture of the Truly Rich Pinoy.

--

--

Manny M. Viloria
Truly Rich Pinoy

Manny Viloria enjoys eLearning, Digital Transformation, the stock market, and Philippine real estate.