So you’re a new Web/Interface Designer? Me too.

Truman Halladay
Truman's Portfolio
Published in
5 min readJul 10, 2017

Quick Story Time: I have always been into design and art. I’ve written another article that talks about that story more in depth. I had my first my graphic design internship at 16 in Southern California, and 5 years later was hired by the same friend (now in Utah) for a web design internship. I learned eagerly and quickly. I decided that this was going to be my future and I wanted to learn all I could. I still have so much to learn but I wanted to share with you my top 4 tips that have helped me progress and develop as a young designer.

1. Constantly Observe

It is the digital age man. I don’t think there is any excuse for having any lack of inspiration. It is very likely already you observe and dissect the apps and sites you use regularly, deciding what you think is inadequate but also enjoying subtle user interactions you love. Never stop that. Learn from those mistakes and jot them down. Take Screenshots! I recommend making an Evernote folder or Google Drive folder of things you enjoy or HATE!

Go on sites like Dribbble, Behance, Muzli, and Onepagelove.com. It is easy to get overwhelmed and maybe even feel discouraged when you see all of the talent published. DON’T BE! The talent on there is unreal, just enjoy. Don’t try to compare too much. Look for inspiration for color schemes, animations, shapes of elements. In your free time, try to recreate some of your favorite things you come across.

Remember: All Artists steal, especially designers.

( One of my favorite books is Steal Like An Artist by Austin Kleon. )

2. Use Paper

I know. Wild idea. I strive to start everything I do on paper. Maybe it is the nostalgia or maybe it is inherent, but it helps me a lot. It is where we all started! Countless doodles on our math homework. Ideas flow better and naturally on paper. My sketches are messy and raw but- it is a safe place to explore. I try not to use my computer as the canvas but just a tool for transforming my sketches. I sketch anything from logos to wireframes to possible personas. There are a lot of cool tools you can buy that are especially crafted for UX / Web design. Personally I just have a grid sketchbook and a couple different color pens.

3. Seek Opinions

This is an iffy step but has to be followed up by tip number four. Opinions from others can be super super helpful. Opinions from others can be super super terrible. Yes, you read that correct. You should ask opinions from your client, your team leader, your mom, your cat, your friends, the internet, and anyone else. BUT! You have to take it all with a grain of salt. Pay attention to responses and ponder if they are relevant, sensical educated responses. Those you ask could be potential users of the app or site you are building, so it is good to hear what they say. But if your mom’s only comment is, “ I don’t like the name of the company (which you have no control of)” then say, “Okay mom. Thanks. I love you.” And move on to the cat.

If you are working for a client, ask them A LOT of questions initially and ask careful questions along the process (more about this in step 4). You want to deliver what they want. Meet and exceed their expectations.

It might be an obvious tactic but I always treat a client as best as I can. Be easy to work with, be direct and excited about their product or service. I try to picture them telling their friend that needs a site, about my work.

Remember: Opinions are like armpits… they all stink, unless of course, they don’t.

4. Make The Call

You’re the Designer. You have been hired to complete this job. You make the calls. It took me a while to gain confidence in my role and stick to my guns. Don’t be afraid to tell people no. Maybe they are right, maybe they are wrong. The important thing is, you own it. It’s your design. Your confidence, faked or not, will leave in an impression on your client, boss, or whatever. Don’t let your client push you around, deliver what they want but remember they hired you. It is hard to do, but I can promise (especially if you are working in start ups) you will have to stand your ground and explain why you are keeping a piece of the experience that way. I got your back. Stand tall.

UX design is an overlooked and often unappreciated skill, we need to let our companies and clients know how pivotal it can be. Let them know it takes time and effort. It takes tests, prototypes, meetings and communication. Learn all you can and share and stand up for your beliefs.

BONUS: Have Fun

You gotta stay happy. Best design is done when you are happy. Relax. Mess around. If you get caught up in a big project. Do smaller more fun projects to ease the stress. I am a firm believer in getting small tasks done; those tasks will keep you motivated and on top of your game.

I wish you the best of luck on your UX journey. I am still at the start of mine and have loved every moment. The world needs better User Experience. Let’s stick together and usher in a new change of design.

-Tru.

--

--

Truman Halladay
Truman's Portfolio

I am fond of Design, Sci-Fi, Philosophy, and Chips and Salsa.