Value Proposition Iterations

Kate Styer
Trust and Process
Published in
2 min readFeb 18, 2019

In light of my most recent pivot, I’ve revised the value proposition drafts I posted last week.

Here are my two latest iterations (these have not yet been shared with anyone for feedback):

VERSION 1
Roundup is a framework for creating more humane social media experiences. For both users and makers of social media platforms, Roundup considers how humans interact and communicate on social media through the lens of restorative practices and identifies new approaches for use and design that prioritize our wellbeing and relationships over business interests and profit.

VERSION 2
Roundup is a framework for creating more humane social media experiences For both users and makers of social media platforms. Roundup draws from restorative practices to identify new approaches for social media use and design that prioritize our wellbeing and relationships over business interests and profit.

Both versions are mostly similar, except for variations in language. What I think they both do well is that they state what the thing is, a framework, and what they do, identify strategies for use and design. I’m also happy with the ways I’ve found to bring in restorative practices, although I need some feedback on whether through the lens of restorative practices or draws from restorative practices is more effective.

That said, framework still feels kind of abstract. Like, if you saw the content of a framework first and then were told, this is a framework, you’d probably agree that this thing is a framework. But if you heard the word framework before knowing its contents, would have any way to anticipate what the content would be?

My husband in particular often comments that my writing style tends to be very wordy — I use too many words! This adjective and this adjective and this adjective! It’s true, I do this. I like this. I like playing with sentence structure and rhythm, and that’s more fun when you have more words to play with! With that in mind, the second version has fewer words, and I could probably even cut some out of the end of the last sentence, like so:

VERSION 3
Roundup is a framework for creating more humane social media experiences For both users and makers of social media platforms. Roundup draws from restorative practices to identify strategies for social media use and design that prioritize our relationships over business interests.

--

--